We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay on the English Riviera”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Stay on the English Riviera”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

OK, so if you want the latest high fashion boutique hotel stop reading this right now. If you want the best stay on the English Riviera or probably anywhere in the UK you better get there quick. Like the vast majority of their guests we have been repeat business over the last 30 years on a regular basis so it's a good job you all don't know how good it is. All the garden facing rooms enjoy a great view over the gardens and short gold course and some on the 3rd floor sneak views of the sea. The swimming poole is big and warm, the public rooms are great and from a gloroius past and most of the rooms are comfortable and up to modern standard. Even if some are showing their age in terms of style and furniture they are all spotlessly clean and for today's hotel standards superbly big. Then, there's the best kept secret of the Palace Hotel dining experience. The menu is traditional English with fantastic value for 4 courses if you book Dinner B & B tariff. And top choice if the sun is out is ordering one of their fantastic lunch treats (my favourite is the club sandwich) and eating out on the gloriously south facing terrace along the front of the hotel. And the short course gold is unique to us - no golfing snobbery or etiquette is required - just have some fun and try your luck. Both our sons have become proficient golfers on the back of their Palace Hotel training! There is an ambitious plan for refurb of the whole hotel coming shortly so get there now and enjoy a uniquely British experience before it's traditional and high standards change. And it's not only the best stay but it's also best value for money.

Room Tip: Go dinner bed & breakfast and be sure to book a garden view room. Don't forget your swimwea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    247
    145
    90
    70
See reviews for
149
311
48
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights because we availed of the offer with breakfast and dinner . Me and my partner enjoyed our stay . The place is old but if you really appreciate the architecture and the details on the walls the stairs you would love the place. We walked from the hotel to Torbay it's about 25 to 30 minutes fair walk. You can do your shopping there and try the train or bus train it's 3.40 for adult for a 40 minutes ride. We also walked from the hotel to babbacombe town it's just about 15 minutes walk lots of things to do and see in babbacombe the model village and the railway cliff and the beaches . If you walk down the woodland side of the hotel about 5 minutes you will see the nice view of anysteys cove saw the beach beside it. Just note that to get into the anysteys cove it's down hill will take you another 5 minutes . The hotel has got a lot of facilities golf , indoor and outdoor pool , snooker room , tennis room . I would like to thank the staff peter , Andrew and mr hill. We would definitely come back although we are told that refurbishment will be on its way.

Room Tip: Garden view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosievil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Palace just gets better. Wonderful weather more like the South of France in June did help. Our revamped bedroom and bathroom was delightful. The food exceptional and as always all the staff able to go the extra mile with a smile on their faces.

Then calamity. Our 56th wedding anniversay dinner on the Saturday evening. By chance cream of mushrooms starter then leek and potato soup, followed by lemon sole.Perfection for my wife and pure chance for that meal. The huge soles looked fantastic as was mine but my wife's was so thick, it was not cooked through to the bones.

A quick word and it hurried away. Within a few minutes a freh fish arrived with another batch of vegetables and apologies from several staff members

That is the mark of a first class hotel when a complaint is made and handled perfectly.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room overlooking the gardens. No 102 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braithwaite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel with around 20 others when attending a brass band contest in the local area. We requested early check in at 12 and arrived to be told a few of our rooms weren't ready due to the previous guests still not checked out. We were told they would be ready around 1pm but were going for a rehearsal so decided we would check in after. At 14.20 they still weren't ready. Due to our contest starting at 3pm we had to leave and weren't able to freshen up properly and had to check in later that day evening. The room was okay, was clean and tidy, a little dated it just had a lack of plug sockets. At 11.25 the next morning we had phone calls asking us to vacate the room (a little frustrating considering the wait we had the previous day to check in) breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and the staff were friendly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank foxyk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Palace (party of 7) on one of their offers, 3 nights DB&B for the price of 2 nights.

We had some reservations as to what our room would be like due to previous reviews however, our room, 146, was quite large, clean and tidy with no mould or damp smells! The bathroom was on the small side but did have a fully functioning shower and bath. The water ran hot at all times and the pressure was good. There was a noisy fan from the kitchens which came on anytime between 06:30 & 07:00 though this did not bother us as we were early risers in order to use the pool before breakfast. The room was a bit tired but perfectly comfortable and acceptable.

Should you find anything wrong with your room (I could not get the television to work, transpired to be my error!) inform reception. There was a polite and charming man at the bedroom door literally within a minute who showed me how to work the television...

The staff are very attentive, nothing is too much trouble and will happily chat to you or stay in the background so as not to be intrusive.

The food is exceptional, everything you can think of laid out for breakfast and if it isn't there they will make it for you. The 4 course dinner each evening was wonderful with different choices every night and coffee taken, if wished, in the lounge areas.

We made use of the indoor pool, sauna, putting green and snooker room which has 2 full sized tables. There are also tennis courts, table tennis, an outside pool and a gym. There is a golf shop and you can book golfing lessons using their own 9 hole golf course or just play a round of golf on your own/with friends.

We were blessed with the weather and spent some time each afternoon having drinks/coffee on the terrace overlooking the lovely gardens.

So enough of my waffling, please do go to the Palace, if you do have any issues the staff will endeavour to rectify immediately - with a smile on their face. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A good old fashioned hotel, with old fashioned customer care and service. All staff whether the cleaner, porter, waiter or reception staff are keen to help and ensure that your stay is good. We were greeted with smiles and courtesy and made to feel really special.
The food is excellent as is the service. I really couldn't fault it. How lovely to get up to a huge choice of breakfast, to take a swim and a walk around the grounds! Later cocktails in the bar followed by a sumptuous dinner.
After the first visit to the bar, the barman remembered the order and had it ready for the next time.
Also really good value for money.
To be fair, the hotel does need a little refurbishment but I understand that will happen soon. I just sincerely hope that it keeps its character because it really is a lovely place to be if you want to eat well, receive excellent service and be made to feel special.
Thank you to the Palace and all staff.

Room Tip: Take your swimming costume the pool is lovely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I took our parents for a short (4 nights) stay. We had a very enjoyable time, helped by a very helpful staff, but we were particularly impressed by both the service and the quality of food in the restaurant. Every time we ate in the restaurant it was very busy but we were never overlooked and the waiters/waitresses never seemed to be hurried. The breakfast menu was comprehensive and the menu for the evening meal changed each night. The quality of the food was excellent and the evening pianist was a nice touch. The seating areas and grounds were splendid. The rooms did have a rather "tired" appearance but this did not detract significantly from our overall enjoyment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,810 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,324 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,099 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing