We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired, over-priced and inconveniently located” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #53 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tired, over-priced and inconveniently located”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have no doubt that in its heyday, The Palace Hotel was the place to stay in Torquay. Sadly, those days are long gone. Clearly management has put no money into refurbishing this hotel in decades. Our room was stuck somewhere in the 70s: no air-conditioning, no WiFi (available on the ground floor only), tiny portable TV with snowy picture, no mobile phone reception, no in-room safe, no mini-bar, tired furnishings (grubby, worn furniture, bedspreads and blankets that frankly I was reluctant even to touch), too-soft mattress, no fresh towels (used towels simply folded during room cleaning, despite being left in the bath), dirty blind in the bathroom, no shower gel (but two bottles of shampoo!), only one tiny bar of soap... I could go on. We had a dark, dingy room overlooking the extractor fans above the kitchen. I might have been able to put up with it had we not been paying GBP160/night. (Nice smell of bacon in the morning, though!) The hotel caters primarily to the elderly, yet is definitely not "elder friendly". We took my mother for her 90th birthday. She is very sprightly and active, yet she found most things a challenge. First of all, she had to navigate multiple extremely heavy fire doors to get to her room, so we had to go with her to help open them, then the door to her room was on such a heavy hinge that she required assistance to open it (not to mention an old-fashioned door lock that was hard to open with the key). The bath was too high and she had trouble getting out of it, the washers on the taps were so old she had difficulty turning them on and off, the overhead shower could not be adjusted so was too high for her, and the bath towels were too big and heavy for an old person. (And by the way, her bathroom was fully carpeted, which is hardly the most hygienic of decor.) She also reported that her bath was not cleaned during the room servicing. The hotel is also located several miles from the town centre so a car is a must. There is virtually nothing within walking distance. (Half a mile uphill walk to Babbacombe, not ideal for an elderly person.) On the positive side, the staff were friendly, the gardens are lovely, the main lounge retained some of its former grandeur (despite the worn furniture), the breakfast was excellent and it appeared to have good leisure facilities (which I can only assume gave the hotel its four-star rating because the rooms were two-star at best).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    239
    136
    84
    66
See reviews for
140
295
46
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gretton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at The Palace over the week end of May 9 this year.The difference is immediate, and it is individual style! A superb 1920s building with everything you need in 2014. Swimming pool, squash courts, tennis courts, you own 9 hole golf course and beautiful gardens.Our breakfast was in the long elegant dinning room overlooking the gardens, the menu not only included a huge English breakfast but also smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, Kedgeree,cold meats, cheeses, pastries and all differing continental breads. We stayed in a standard room which was comfortable,clean and well decorated and had all the usual facilities.On leaving we asked to look at one of the first floor suites. Here you have a large bathroom, a classically furnished drawing room, bedroom with queen sized bed and a private balcony overlooking the gardens. The public areas were peaceful and elegant.All the staff were very professional, helpful and friendly. A nice touch, at least for us and several other guests, was to see a very contented cat stretching in the sunshine under one of the drawing room windows. We were told he lives locally but often pops in for a snooze. A charming place.

Room Tip: Stay in a suite,there are nearly always deals available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBaritone21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Friendly and efficient staff. Excellent leisure facilities - tennis, squash, croquet, golf, swimming and snooker. Gardens really lovely.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and good service for tea, toast etc. We were intending to have dinner but, after looking at the menu and seeing the supplements for food we liked (+ £6 for a prawn cocktail and + £16 for a steak), decided to eat elsewhere.
Bedroom had lovely views over the gardens and the bed was very comfy. Well equipped but in need of decoration.
Would return again - and hope that the damp smells in the corridor and the lack of choice on the dinner menu will have been sorted!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

On two separate occasions recently I accessed the Palace Hotel's website, and found an appealing midweek offer which invited me to the hotel to start the day with a bacon sandwich, followed by a game of golf and then a free lunch. All for the princely sum of £12.95.
When I phoned up to claim the offer, I was told that it had been cancelled and it was no longer available to me. So why is it still appearing on your website, I enquired, for all the world to see?
Ah, came the reply, we have instructed our website provider two weeks ago to delete it. But it hasn't happened, has it? I said. The offer is still appearing, and I wish to avail myself of it. You can't, I was told, we have withdrawn it. So that's it!
I am dismayed by the response I have received from the management on this matter. They make an offer, issue a written invitation on their website and then renege on what ought to be a commitment and promise whenever it proves inconvenient.

The Palace offers are not what they seem. Do not be fooled. Furthermore, what sort of responsible hotel has a website that is more than two weeks out of date, I wonder.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian_aitken80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Staffs. UK.
Level Contributor
625 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Yes it's old, some might think it's tired, but the Palace has a certain charm that you just don't find in today's plastic chain hotels. The rooms are old fashioned and under equipped, but they represent brilliant value for money. The breakfasts are great and the service is very good. The hotel is about to undergo " re-development " so if you appreciate a little bit of bygone England, stay soon before the whole thing disappears !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Palace Hotel for the Toolstation Western Football League annual convention this weekend. Whilst we could not fault the staff, who were very professional and helpful, the hotel itself is very tired-looking.

The reception area and foyer are sumptuous, and the hotel grounds are wonderful. However rooms are very 1980s (including a chunky TV nearly as old as me which was out of action!) and in need of a major spruce up.

We expected more for the cost of our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights midweek, and were really pleased with the hotel. We were bought the break as a gift, so hadn't picked it ourselves. The hotel is a large building, which is mainly art deco in style. The fireplaces were lovely and, the lounges and reception , very comfortable.
We had a third floor room , overlooking the garden and terraces, which was very spacious with 2 comfortable easy chairs and small table . The beds were a little on the hard side but we slept well. The bathroom was immaculate and looked as if it had been done not too long ago.
The grounds to me would be well worth booking it for.There were some formal set gardens, and then the extensive walk in the wooded parts, which took you .down to the overflow car park , and
from there you could walk down to Anstey cove. This was steep , but well worth the views.
You can walk up to Babbacombe if you are an able walker, but would have to drive in to Torquay.
Even though you are on a main road at the entrance to the hotel, the garden rooms are really quiet.The evening meal was really nice and varied, but the breakfast was superb with choice of continental, cereals ,fruit , pastries, full English, or a choice of fish ,with lots more besides.
If you like minimalist, this is not for you, but the character and history is really interesting. The staff were really friendly and helped us when needed.

Room Tip: Garden rooms would be better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolpavlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing