We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money near excellent Indian restaurant”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money near excellent Indian restaurant”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent. The 9 hole golf course was great fun. We were here on a deal so have to admit we benefitted from discount. The Lavani Indian restaurant, which was within walking distance was superb it offered lovely, simple and elegant decor, good value, great service and excellent tastey food with a modern twist.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywho9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    247
    145
    90
    70
See reviews for
149
311
48
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed in May 2014.Great variety of meals served. Made use of onsite golf and snooker facilities. Well worth a return visit.Staff looked after our party of 40 plus very well. A thoroughly enjoyable place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night , staff were very pleasant and helpful . The grounds were beautiful with good sports facilities inside and out. Food was excellent and good room service was available. Was pleasantly surprised the had entertainment on . The only negative I could say was no mobile phone signal and is dated and in need of a re-vamp but if you can see past this a lovely place to stay which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa031072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Positives first. A large hotel with beautiful gardens and good service.
I understand the hotel is likely to be refurbished and once done would hope it would be tip top once more.
In the meantime, the décor is pretty dated and in central areas and hotel rooms, much evidence of wear is visible. The bathroom wasn't too bad.The hotel client group did seem at the older end of the spectrum.
As I was partly staying for work purposes, it was disappointing that there was no wifi above the 2nd floor (and probably quite weak at 1st & 2nd floor levels), that said there is a writing room on the ground floor, although my work laptop wouldn't connect - my phone did.
The meals seemed of a pretty good standard, although regrettably on the last day I did leave suffering from severe sickness and diarrhoea, having only eaten at the hotel. Not sure if basic hygiene might need re-visiting, as to all intents and purposes everything at the public facing end seemed fine.
I'm not keen on large chain hotels, which I understand might be the option associated with refurb, but certainly some internal renovation and modernisation needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatildaForestofDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I love The Palace. It is old and tired but its like my Great Auntie Anne with lots of character and style.

The service and food are amazing. You get a proper teapot on your hospitality tray and the garden is beautiful.
Mobile phone reception and wifi are terrible, but it is lovely to be able to properly get away from it all.

It's not a place to go if you are looking for sleek and modern surroundings but that's what makes it special

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co.durham
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Arrived here for a wedding, looking from the outside it looked great. We checked in fine staff very helpful. When we got to the room o dear me what a let down. Cracked windows very old decor. The bath room was nothing to write home about hot water flowed but the cold you waited for ages and the shower well have put better ones in the bin. When you looked at the beds they had blankets on and the beds were so old, could not wait to get home for a good nights sleep.

We ate in the restaurant on Friday night I had lamb which the gravy was wonderful but still looking for the lamb. Staff were very flustered . Breakfast next morning was warm but nothing exciting.

Have stayed in wonderful 4 star hotels in England but I will never go back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jameslambton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Arrived friday mid afternoon, car park was part sectioned off for coachs, 1st thought was oh no its a shearings hotel, but was for two coach loads of german hikers. Check in was swift, we were given room 344, lifts were antiques. Room was, well it was a room, ancient furniture, even older bed, with blankets! Mattress had been a mattress a long time offering no comfort or support at all.bathroom was no better, shower was gross, very ineffective, towel rail (no controls) was situated right next to wc.great if you want a burnt leg!
we had a family meal on friday night, serving staff were very unpleasant and a lot of party thought we were stopping them from being somewhere else. They obviously didn't want to attend to us as a party, meals plonked in front of you, as if to say get on with it.
Breakfast was a buffet, so not much to say on that
Wedding on saturday went ok, I didn't pay for it so dont want to comment on level of service, except to say drinks were VERY expensive and bar service was poor.
Would I stay again, definately NOT, at £100.00 a night (that was a reduced rate for block booklng)
Budget hotels offer better rooms and service at just over half the price

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stimmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,803 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,097 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing