We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely relaxing 6 day break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #52 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely relaxing 6 day break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at this lovely old hotel with its lovely location a short walk to the sea and the delicious food,would reccommend. staff cant do enough for you, especially Andrew the waiter. Will hopefully be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HELEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    240
    136
    84
    66
See reviews for
140
296
46
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent. The 9 hole golf course was great fun. We were here on a deal so have to admit we benefitted from discount. The Lavani Indian restaurant, which was within walking distance was superb it offered lovely, simple and elegant decor, good value, great service and excellent tastey food with a modern twist.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywho9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed in May 2014.Great variety of meals served. Made use of onsite golf and snooker facilities. Well worth a return visit.Staff looked after our party of 40 plus very well. A thoroughly enjoyable place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night , staff were very pleasant and helpful . The grounds were beautiful with good sports facilities inside and out. Food was excellent and good room service was available. Was pleasantly surprised the had entertainment on . The only negative I could say was no mobile phone signal and is dated and in need of a re-vamp but if you can see past this a lovely place to stay which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa031072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Positives first. A large hotel with beautiful gardens and good service.
I understand the hotel is likely to be refurbished and once done would hope it would be tip top once more.
In the meantime, the décor is pretty dated and in central areas and hotel rooms, much evidence of wear is visible. The bathroom wasn't too bad.The hotel client group did seem at the older end of the spectrum.
As I was partly staying for work purposes, it was disappointing that there was no wifi above the 2nd floor (and probably quite weak at 1st & 2nd floor levels), that said there is a writing room on the ground floor, although my work laptop wouldn't connect - my phone did.
The meals seemed of a pretty good standard, although regrettably on the last day I did leave suffering from severe sickness and diarrhoea, having only eaten at the hotel. Not sure if basic hygiene might need re-visiting, as to all intents and purposes everything at the public facing end seemed fine.
I'm not keen on large chain hotels, which I understand might be the option associated with refurb, but certainly some internal renovation and modernisation needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatildaForestofDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I love The Palace. It is old and tired but its like my Great Auntie Anne with lots of character and style.

The service and food are amazing. You get a proper teapot on your hospitality tray and the garden is beautiful.
Mobile phone reception and wifi are terrible, but it is lovely to be able to properly get away from it all.

It's not a place to go if you are looking for sleek and modern surroundings but that's what makes it special

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co.durham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Arrived here for a wedding, looking from the outside it looked great. We checked in fine staff very helpful. When we got to the room o dear me what a let down. Cracked windows very old decor. The bath room was nothing to write home about hot water flowed but the cold you waited for ages and the shower well have put better ones in the bin. When you looked at the beds they had blankets on and the beds were so old, could not wait to get home for a good nights sleep.

We ate in the restaurant on Friday night I had lamb which the gravy was wonderful but still looking for the lamb. Staff were very flustered . Breakfast next morning was warm but nothing exciting.

Have stayed in wonderful 4 star hotels in England but I will never go back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jameslambton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing