We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service lovely hotel BUT......”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service lovely hotel BUT......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms were so old and dated I could feel all the springs inside the mattress, very poor mobile signal and wifi only on ground floor. A hotel with lots of potential needs some money spent to upgrade the bedrooms rooms.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    243
    139
    85
    66
See reviews for
141
300
46
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this for a short stay and had read other reviews. Whilst I can't dispute some of the negative things people have said, I loved this place. The grounds and public rooms are outstanding, lovely and opulent. Absolutely loved the 'step back in time' lifts with their concertina gates and glass sides. We were given a garden view room with its own little bay window looking out over the stunning gardens. I found having sheets and blankets nostalgic. The radio contraption on the headboard took me back but was harmless. We had a flat screen TV and plenty of tea/coffee supplies. The bathroom facilites all worked fine, but it did irritate me that the fittings and tiles looked like they'd been fitted in the 70s/80s. However the cleanliness and service couldn't be faulted and I hope that when the refurbishment that is on the cards happens, they do not lose the individualness and charm that this place has in bundles. Oh and breakfast is amazing!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fayerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Good points staff v pleasant and excellent breakfast. Bad points Dated rooms, shower not working, no mobile phone reception which when reported was met with I know the whole area is poor. Not the staffs fault they were great but they dont warn you in brochure and clam to be a business/conference venue, Also no bar after 11.30 on sat night as was quiet

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeW642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Shrewsbury UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I needed to stay in Torquay for a couple of days on business and having searched for reasonably priced hotels I was very surprised to see the Palace was offering B&B for 2 nights for £78.
On arrival the reception staff were pleasant and the hotel looked great until I entered my room, it was like stepping back in time 50 years. The room was small, the bathroom window did not open the tv was ancient and apart from 1 three pin electric socket all the others were two pin!!!
Ok I thought for the money I can put up with it but then i set up my laptop on the shabby desk but could not sit there as the stool provided had no cushion it was totally flat as if you was going to fall through it. As you can see the following is off their website:
'One of the largest superior 4-star Devon hotels in the South West, the Palace Hotel in Torquay was established in the 1920s and combines traditional standards of service, accommodation and attention to detail with modern facilities which are an everyday aspect of day-to-day living'. Now to me modern facilities would include WIFI however having tried to obtain WIFI to no avail I went to see the receptionist only to be told the hotel does not have WIFI if I need to go onto the internet I would need to use the hotels computer in the lobby and pay to use it!! This was the final straw I asked for a refund and then found another hotel, needless to say you get what you pay for but this hotel must be one of the worst as far as room facilities are concerned, such a shame.

Room Tip: Choose a different Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at this lovely old hotel with its lovely location a short walk to the sea and the delicious food,would reccommend. staff cant do enough for you, especially Andrew the waiter. Will hopefully be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HELEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent. The 9 hole golf course was great fun. We were here on a deal so have to admit we benefitted from discount. The Lavani Indian restaurant, which was within walking distance was superb it offered lovely, simple and elegant decor, good value, great service and excellent tastey food with a modern twist.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywho9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed in May 2014.Great variety of meals served. Made use of onsite golf and snooker facilities. Well worth a return visit.Staff looked after our party of 40 plus very well. A thoroughly enjoyable place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing