We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break at the Palace”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“short break at the Palace”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Palace, our third stay in three years. The Palace is not on the sea front, instead it has a view of its own nine hole golf course, and beautiful gardens. The outdoor swimming pool is also on view. The rooms are well serviced, and looked after by the staff, but they need a bit of an upgrade, in particular the shower, which you couldn't turn on without getting soaked doing it. However, the dining room makes up for any shortcomings, food and service being first class (in my view anyway), the waiters and waitresses being immaculately turned turned out, and paying attention to your every need. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 142 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    249
    145
    90
    70
See reviews for
151
312
48
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My daughter took me for lunch at the Palace Hotel yesterday. The food we had was excellent and looking after my Gluten Free diet was good. BUT previously we had been there and it was a Sunday Carvery, on this occasion the choice of 7 vegetables + potatoes was superb. Whereas this time we just had 3 + potatoes. Also with the Roast beef there were no gluten free Yorkshire Puddings. Last week at the Sandford I was offered a lovely dish of GF Yorkshire pudding which were excellent. Both places knew before arrival that I would require GF. I would go again as soon as the Carvery is on offer

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for a short break. Hotel is huge, loads to do and the gardens are beautifully kept. Our room was huge and looked over the gardens meaning we had a really nice view which was a good thing because there was not much else for us to do.

The restaurant menu looked good but we were not after a sit down meal meaning our dining options were limited. The hotel itself is dated and I felt was more suited to family's or older couples, certainly not the place for a couple in their 30's who were after a relaxing time. We felt very out of place in the hotel and as such spent most of the time in our room. One massive issue was there did not seem to be anything in the room to tell you about the hotel, it's a facilities and things like breakfast opening time (the breakfast by the way was excellent) or if they did room service etc. As such we found ourselves not really knowing what the hotel had to offer.

Would not stay again, certainly not for £120 a night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank grabers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

As we walked to our room we noticed a bizarre smell in the corridor which luckily disappeared by the time we reached our room.
Our room was a good size but looked as though it hadn't been decorated since the 1970s.
The ensuite was poorly cleaned and had a lacklustre shower with a rusting stool in the corner. The tiling and flooring were disintegrating in places.
There was no wifi in our room and on 2 different networks no mobile phone reception.
We had a tiny 14 inch portable TV that had a very fuzzy picture and would appear the digital switchover hasn't reached the Palace Hotel.
The grounds are beautiful and if the hotel staff looked after rooms as much as the gardeners do the grounds it would be a great hotel.
A 4 star hotel it definitely is not.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Returning to the Palace is like visiting an old friend - you know what you are going to get.
They are not big on ‘change’ here, but that’s often what will bring back its loyal patrons.
If you insist on a bedroom which resembles an air conditioned glass box, with beige walls, a beige carpet , white duvet, massive plasma T.V. and a bathroom so new you can still smell the paint drying – then you will be disappointed.
You will be definitely in the wrong hotel.
But, there will be plenty of other places who will gratefully oblige, should that be your wish.
The Palace is unique. It is large, old and yes, fairly grand.
The furnishings are traditional and the public rooms are tastefully furnished in a style appropriate to its age – Benidorm this is not!
For those who have commented that ‘It is like a museum’, then you can understand what they are trying to say, but I would not agree. These impressive and ornate rooms would look ridiculous furnished with modern decor. If anyone is in doubt before making a reservation, a brochure or the website will confirm roughly what to expect.

Criticisms have been made about the need for some room modernisation – these are valid. However, the rooms generally are spacious, functional and clean (and that applies to the bathrooms also). I believe there are big plans in the pipeline for a refurbishment programme.

If you have a ‘garden view room’, then you will overlook the acres of landscaped gardens, and the outdoor swimming pool. The sea is visible just beyond the garden.
Very few reviewers have mentioned that a path in the garden leads directly to Anstey’s Cove. Steps and also a sloping path will take you down to sea level in five minutes. Access is now restricted because the beach has a safety issue of falling rocks, however you can certainly get far enough to enjoy lovely views of the cove and sea.

Everything about the Palace is ‘big’ – the public sitting rooms, the dining room and the grounds.
Although we have visited in spring, summer, and autumn, we have never felt ‘crowded’ in any way. Leisure facilities are extensive, but rarely do you see many people making use of them.
The massive dining room is fairly formal. Here, things are still done correctly, with black tie staff offering impeccable service. However, no jackets and ties are required for the gentlemen these days. If you are lucky, you may be there on an evening when the grand piano is being played. Sadly, this is when some younger guests might start to use phrases like ‘old fashioned’, but then again dining at the Palace feels just a bit special, and should not be compared with a pizza restaurant or the Italian place around the corner.

Food is excellent, and always served piping hot, on very hot plates! If you do not like meat served ‘pink’, then you only need make that request, and they will oblige. For those who like to be slightly more adventurous, the odd speciality dish will be cooked on a spirit stove at your table.

Breakfast offers practically anything you might fancy. As well as the usual breakfast grill, there are cold meats and cheeses, and an extensive variety of fresh fruit, speciality breads and pastries. Omelettes, pancakes, and waffles are cooked to order while you watch.

It would be difficult to fault any of the staff, but I really have to mention Andrew (a young waiter), who’s smile and enthusiasm has always been second to none.
The Palace tends to attract the more mature guest. However, there are outdoor facilities for children and two heated swimming pools. Parents are encouraged to take advantage of a slightly earlier evening meal time for young families in a separate dining room.

The hotel is situated between Torquay and Babbacombe, but for those without transport a very regular bus service runs from just outside. Some of the more mature visitors, might sometimes spend time in the lounges and gardens during the day, if they do not wish to go out. This is certainly a hotel which lends itself to that possibility, because there are loads of pleasant spots where you can relax in the sun or the shade.
The bedrooms are very quiet at night, especially the garden view rooms with virtually no traffic noises at all.

This is a lovely stylish hotel, with impeccable service – but it is ‘TRADITIONAL’!

So beware, if you are likely to faint at the sight of a dralon headboard, or think you are visiting ‘granny’ because you haven’t got a quilt in the obligatory plain white cover, then you may be in the wrong hotel. This place will not be your cup of tea!

Times are changing, some visitors will always want the uniformity of the modern ‘glass box’ bedroom, so look elsewhere!

Enjoy The Palace while you can, there are not many like this left!

Look out for their bargain break offers – they are well worth taking.

Room Tip: Garden rooms may carry a supplement (but not always), however they are totally quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chestnuts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

From the mixed reviews, it is easy to see why you might get such a varied report from the hotel. It is true that it was built in 1921, I think and so it full of art deco design and cavernous rooms. The grounds are amazing and as a guest provide you with free golf, swimming, snooker, squash and tennis etc. 2 mins walk a nice cove with beach
I was here for 2 days of meetings and enjoyed some fabulous food and service. I can't fault anything and I loved the nostalgic atmosphere that you don't get with a modern hotel chain. I was lucky as I had a refurbished bedroom with huge windows overlooking the gardens and pool (Room 107) New carpet and bed, TV and furniture. I was surprised when colleagues said their bed was lumpy and their room tired... So I guess there are refurbished rooms and others not. But 107 is a good one.
Wifi is free and does reach room 107, but away from reception you may struggle. I had 3g phone with o2 in most places too.
For me it was a great stay. I loved the food and the atmosphere. It was a quiet hotel too

Room Tip: Room 107 has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N9eav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Upon arrival you walk into a fantastic foyer with a friendly welcome
I was dissappointed in the room it look tired and in need of a makeover, the toilet was in a small alcove and i burnt my bum on the radiator when I went to the loo
The interior is like a maze and signage is confusing
Breakfast was fantastic and again the staff very friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,880 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,368 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
851 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing