We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this hotel last week less than 24 hours before we were due to stay . We had been completely let down with a booking we have for The Imperial so switched to this hotel. We could only have a standard room on the first night as that was all was available, and then move to a garden view room for the following two nights. The standard room was dismal and had no outlook with just noisy fans and a smell of bleach . We asked to be moved and were promptly given an executive garden view room at no extra cost. This was much brighter and had a lovely view. The decor of the room is very dated and the bed wasn't particularly comfortable but the management and staff were all very friendly and helpful. When we arrived , straight away the porter asked if he could help with our bags, we were checked in very quickly and were given a different room almost immediately when we said we were unhappy with first room. The breakfast was well organised and excellent each day , as was the evening meal in the restaurant . The food was excellent. The outdoor pool and indoor pool were disappointing . Although the weather was warm the outdoor pool was freezing. It was heated but not for long enough and the solar cover was missing so it would have taken forever to heat. The management said they were awaiting a cover. We then Tried the indoor pool. There appears to be a serious drain problem as you entered the changing room on the way in to the indoor pool. The smell was so bad I decided to change in the sauna changing room . The pool edge tiles at water level didnt look clean so we didnt stay long. It's a shame as both pools are a nice facility to offer if they were maintained better. The grounds were lovely which made up for the lack of sea view. My son joined us on the second night and they rolled a spare bed into our room. It was rather expensive for his place as they said it was a fixed price per head and made his breakfast and dinner expensive. He is only 16 and did not want a four course meal each evening but there was no option for him to eat a la carte . This would have been better in his case. Originally reservations had told me it was a price per head basis and that he could have his own room but this was not available when I eventually booked. They did adjust the price slightly but I still had to effectively pay £60 per day for his meals . Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again. I would like to see the management update the bedrooms as the decor is very outdated and shabby. They also need. Address the drainage problem. Also mobile phone coverage very poor in hotel unless you are an O2 customer so wifi extended to the rooms would be a very good idea.

Room Tip: Choose a garden view room , all other rooms face from of hotel and can be noisy . Garden rooms very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    248
    145
    90
    70
See reviews for
151
311
48
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights last march and came back this month . We loved the place yes it is old and tired but we will definitely come back . Yes furnitures and decorations are all out of date but they more than that . The staff are all very helpful from the reception PETER , the front desk MR ELLIOT for helping us and suggesting to us where to go . The restaurant staff ELLIOT, CORY , MaRK .The food from breakfast and dinner are EXCELLENT . The bar staff sorry did get the chance to get your names - thank you for the iced water . The hotel has got lots of facilities so I can't understand why would people say nothing to do in this holel . I would suggest ASK and explore the place it's lovely . The pathway at the back going to the cove and beach is just few minutes walk . Indoor swimming pool and sauna . It took us 15 to 20 minutes walk from the hotel to babbacombe . Tried the Clift rail and walk along the coast . The bus stop is just outside the hotel. We will come back again soon .

Room Tip: Best rooms will be Facing the garden .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosievil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for two nights in July.

Staff could not have been any more friendly and helpful and were great with the kids. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the amenities are great.

I found that the general decor especially in the rooms was tired and very much in need of an update. Rooms lack air conditioning and when we were staying in July the temperature was in the high twenties so the rooms where very hot - as we had a newborn baby with us we requested a fan for the room - the staff were very helpful and lent us the one from reception.

We enjoyed our stay here however I feel that the rooms are need of an update in order to justify 4 stars.

Room Tip: Get a garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeymafia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Palace, our third stay in three years. The Palace is not on the sea front, instead it has a view of its own nine hole golf course, and beautiful gardens. The outdoor swimming pool is also on view. The rooms are well serviced, and looked after by the staff, but they need a bit of an upgrade, in particular the shower, which you couldn't turn on without getting soaked doing it. However, the dining room makes up for any shortcomings, food and service being first class (in my view anyway), the waiters and waitresses being immaculately turned turned out, and paying attention to your every need. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 142 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My daughter took me for lunch at the Palace Hotel yesterday. The food we had was excellent and looking after my Gluten Free diet was good. BUT previously we had been there and it was a Sunday Carvery, on this occasion the choice of 7 vegetables + potatoes was superb. Whereas this time we just had 3 + potatoes. Also with the Roast beef there were no gluten free Yorkshire Puddings. Last week at the Sandford I was offered a lovely dish of GF Yorkshire pudding which were excellent. Both places knew before arrival that I would require GF. I would go again as soon as the Carvery is on offer

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for a short break. Hotel is huge, loads to do and the gardens are beautifully kept. Our room was huge and looked over the gardens meaning we had a really nice view which was a good thing because there was not much else for us to do.

The restaurant menu looked good but we were not after a sit down meal meaning our dining options were limited. The hotel itself is dated and I felt was more suited to family's or older couples, certainly not the place for a couple in their 30's who were after a relaxing time. We felt very out of place in the hotel and as such spent most of the time in our room. One massive issue was there did not seem to be anything in the room to tell you about the hotel, it's a facilities and things like breakfast opening time (the breakfast by the way was excellent) or if they did room service etc. As such we found ourselves not really knowing what the hotel had to offer.

Would not stay again, certainly not for £120 a night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank grabers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

As we walked to our room we noticed a bizarre smell in the corridor which luckily disappeared by the time we reached our room.
Our room was a good size but looked as though it hadn't been decorated since the 1970s.
The ensuite was poorly cleaned and had a lacklustre shower with a rusting stool in the corner. The tiling and flooring were disintegrating in places.
There was no wifi in our room and on 2 different networks no mobile phone reception.
We had a tiny 14 inch portable TV that had a very fuzzy picture and would appear the digital switchover hasn't reached the Palace Hotel.
The grounds are beautiful and if the hotel staff looked after rooms as much as the gardeners do the grounds it would be a great hotel.
A 4 star hotel it definitely is not.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,373 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
853 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing