We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great management, great staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #52 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great management, great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Lovely hotel in sunny Torquay, brilliant quality. The dinner was exquisite for a DBB deal - silver service four course dinner with fresh, quality ingredients. Our waitress for breakfast and dinner (Karolina) was brilliant. All the staff were attentive, warm and friendly - particular mentions for Joe and Andy.

The indoor and outdoor pools were of good hotel quality (not olympic size obviously!) plus there was a nice little par three type golf course in the grounds. There was also a snooker room and tennis courts.

It is worth a walk to Anstey Cove (through the wooded footpath at the bottom left of the grounds) and down the steep hill to the sea. Prepare yourself for the walk back....but there has to be some defence to all the glorious food in the hotel.

The hotel cream tea is to be recommended (and is easily big enough to share).

I won't go on too much as I want to be able to go back and for the hotel to have availability!!

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RedversMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    240
    136
    84
    66
See reviews for
140
296
46
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

A well maintained old-style hotel in the best tradition. Don't expect plasma TV or Wi-Fi but do expect a comfortable room, friendly service, good leisure facilities and grounds, an excellent table d'hote dinner and a good (but not excellent) breakfast. Regular bus service to central Torquay if you don't want to drive or walk (about 30 minutes - downhill going!)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

It is often impossible to believe that reviewers are talking about the same hotel, when one reads the utterly diverse remarks that each visitor has left on Trip Adviser.
The Palace is certainly an example of this weird phenomenon.

Having made numerous visits to Torquay over the last 50 years, I have stayed in many different types of establishment, starting in guest houses in the beginning, and then gradually progressing to larger and more prestigious hotels as time went on and I could afford something a little better!
The Palace is a hotel at which I had not stayed, and therefore when an ‘early season’ promotion was advertised in April, I decided it was a good opportunity to try it out.
Some remarks on Trip Adviser were not flattering – so I was anticipating the visit with an open mind.

The single room was clean and functional. It had a large modern fully tiled bathroom, which was spotless. Bedroom units and the T.V. were not the very latest – but were quite acceptable. The soft furnishings were of good quality and clean. No giant flat screen T.V’s with ninety-nine channels I’m afraid, but what a lot else this place has to offer!
The public rooms are imposing – beautiful furniture and décor, leading to a magnificent garden. The dining room is spectacular and the service impeccable. The food was superb, and attention from the dining room staff was second to none.
The tone of the dining room tends to be quite formal and correct, which seems totally in keeping to this style of hotel. Yes, some people do enjoy dining to the charming sounds of a pianist at a grand piano, believe it or not!
Some reviewers have used the term ‘faded grandeur’ as a criticism to this place.
There is nothing faded about it – but yes, it is quite grand I suppose.
Because of the hotel’s style, history and ambiance one would certainly say it’s ‘traditional’. It’s definitely not all smoked glass and chromium, if that’s your taste.
If you are used to modern motels, high rise apartments, or family holiday complexes, this is certainly different – and may not be for you, but there again, you might decide it is!

Leisure facilities are impressive – Indoor and outdoor tennis courts, golf, two swimming pools and a magnificent landscaped garden. A gentle stroll through the grounds before breakfast brings you to the clear blue waters of the delightfully secluded Anstey’s Cove.
I can’t help feeling a bit sad for the lady who has sent extreme close-up photos of a dead fly trapped in an enclosed light fitting, and a bit of flaky paint on a window. She was quite obviously far too busy to even begin to discover the gems this place can really offer!

This hotel will probably appeal to a more mature visitor. There are facilities for children (gardens, play area, pools), but it is quite conservative and peaceful. There will certainly not be any clowns moving from table to table giving out funny balloon to the kids – but like the ninety-nine channel flat T.V, that is something I can do without!
I found the whole visit (four nights) very difficult to fault.
This is a massive period hotel and yes, with on going refurbishment, one corridor carpet might be different from the next one. Not such a big deal in my book – just enjoy the visit and the superb hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeicesterChestnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

If I was thinking of booking The Palace & read the reviews, I wouldn't book! However I love it!! I'm about to have my 3rd stay there and can't wait.
My first stay there in August 2007 was fantastic! The staff were very friendly, the food was excellent, our teenage son was kept quiet with both pools (weather was good), the golf and the snooker tables. I loved the coastal walk to Torquay & had a nostalgic trip on a day bus roamer to Paignton & Brixham & re-visited Babbacoombe model village. Kents Caverns (walking distance from hotel) was well worth a visit.
My 2nd stay (August 2008) was slightly tainted by our room. Unfortunately the room we'd had on our last visit had been allocated to some friends we'd taken! I have to be honest & admit that the room we'd been given on this occasion was dark & depressing although it had obviously been recently refurbished. Unfortunately the hotel didn't have another room that would take a 3rd bed, even though I offered to pay more! So I have to be honest and admit that if this had been my first visit to the hotel I may have not returned! However, everything else I loved about the hotel hadn't changed. (Even most of the staff were the same and remembered us from our previous visit).
I tried last October to book another 3 night stay in the first room we'd stayed in but it was already booked so went to the Marriott at Chepstow instead (not impressed with that Hotel..but that's another review!).
Have spent the last week on 'the net' trying to find a hotel for 3 nights next week. After checking out 'loads', 'The Palace' still seems the best overall deal..and the room I had on my first visit was available... so The Palace ..here I come. Should it disappoint, I will let you know, but I would be very shocked if it did.
Overall I rate The Palace as excellent value for money - £64 per person for DB&B with full use of all facilities.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshireGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

Overnight stay to speak at a conference being held in the Hotel. Arrived at 9.45 pm by car from Bristol airport to be told no hot food was available, just sandwiches off room service at crazy prices. Pathetically small and shabby single room. Bed just 2 feet 6 inches wide, ridiculously saggy and with a choice of the wall on one side and and a night light which could not be turned off on the other.

Took 20 minutes to run a bath the next morning. Service at breakfast nothing short of digraceful, although the food itself was good, as was the buffet lunch at the conference.

The grounds are magnificent, so it is a pity the hotel itself is so poor.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Poole
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

Stayed here mid Feb for 2 night break with older teenagers and have stayed here many times across the years since the children were young. Always found the service very helpful, polite and charming, even these days of many staff from foreign shores, like all hotels, but having said that many of the staff have been there a long time and always remember your name...how many hotels can do that today? Yes its a big old fashioned style hotel and many of the rooms are rather dated (unless you upgrade to executive or a suite) but they are spotlessly clean and the rooms looking over the extensive gardens are very quiet and well worth paying a few pounds extra for... the gardens are about 25 acres and well maintained and there is a path down through the trees to a nearby rocky cove. I'm surprised previous reviewers have never mentioned the excellent sports facilities here which was the reason we very first visited the hotel... its own 9 hole twisting golf course (no tee times needed or fancy golf wear), a gym, indoor pool, outdoor pool (in july/august), 4 outdoor tennis courts, indoor tennis courts, squash courts, 2 full size snooker tables and a table tennis table, if thats not enough theres also a croquet lawn and putting green (all sports equipment available to hire from reception). This hotel is a rarity still being privately owned, not a chain, and is trying hard to keep its standards up in a changing world, from the quiet elegant lounge to indulge in a cream tea (yummy !) to the pianist playing in the high ceilinged dining room on fri/sat eves, its a blast from the past and only a £4 taxi ride from central Torquay, where if you have kids, do visit Living Coast with seabirds, seals, penguins etc all close up on the seafront and Paignton Zoo (about 15 mins by car is also excellent these days). I agree there are no boutique, high tech bedrooms with plasma screens and wifi in them, but nonetheless the Palace does have a charm of its own if you appreciate it...stay soon before -who- knows- one day maybe it will be sold or redeveloped.... I do hope not !!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagoon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

Like many old British hotels, the grand exterior of The Palace is sadly let down by the quality of the interiors. Anyone used to staying in 4* Boutique or Business Hotels will be disappointed with The Palace, but this is reflected in the price which I think offers good value for what's on offer.

The reception, restaurant and room service staff were all extremely courteous and accommodating. Although very dated and tired the rooms are functional. I was pleased to see a bath but the bathroom was very pokey.

The Palace is potentially a great hotel, but one sadly stuck in a bygone era. The management have reluctantly relaxed their strict dress code for dining in the restaurant, but being under the age of retirement I still felt slightly out of place!

Oh and by the time I checked out, I was desperate for some phone reception and a decent cup of coffee!!!

  • Liked — Convenient for the purpose of my trip
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaDer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing