We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay
Ranked #73 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brill Hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Where do I start with a brilliant experience at the acorn lodge the meet and greet with Pauline And Pat with the tea and cake ( Fruit Juice for the kids) Pat then help us up to our room with our cases( sorry about the weight of our cases) nothing was too much trouble for this hard working couple.

The family room was spacious and with a big shower room/WC the breakfast in the morning was brilliant ( favourite was the fresh fruit salad) everything about the acorn lodge was A one.

When we hopefully return to Devon next year we will make sure we stay at the acorn lodge

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlackFamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and many thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again if you're in Torquay. Hopefully you'll get to do the open bus tour next time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    28
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
54
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Country
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

A group of 14 workmates were warmly welcomed by Pauline at the Acorn Lodge. Ok she read us a few house rules but if it was my business and a group of 14 girls turned up then I would have been a bit concerned!! The rooms were spotless, breakfast fab (fresh fruit salad - no tinnned fruit here!!) and Pauline even provided us with champagne glasses for a drinkies on the terrace before we went into town!! A taxi into town cost approx £4 - it was a 15 minute walk along the seafront to get to the harbour if you decided to stroll.
Having not stayed in a B and B for years , this was a refreshing change from a soleless hotel and very good value. Ok some rooms were a little cosy but hey , we only stayed one night and it couldn't have been better!!
Thanks Pauline - hope we were not too much bother!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westcountryyokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taunton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

a group of us used acorn lodge for the weekend and had great service from start to finish. rooms were clean,beds were spotless and if you ever needed anything they were more than happy to help. breakfast was definatley the best for me and loved the fresh fruit salad. very helpful even down to carrying our bags to the car park when we left.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicky75Taunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Thanks ladies, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

When my boyfriend and I turned up at the acorn lodge, we weren't exactly greeted with open arms. We felt like the lady who runs it was actually quite rude, telling us everything we can and can't do as soon as we stepped inside the front door. We were then shown to our room, and i have to say it looked nothing like it did in the photo, it was tiny not really big enough to be a double and as for the en-suite that was very disappointing. I will not be visiting the acorn lodge again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abby23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Well....There was friendly greeting on arrival from Clifton and shown our room...double room very small and cramped say no to room 2...apart from small room, mattress was lumpy and flat, hurt my back it did (so that needs throwing out). Its a shame but it spoilt it a bit knowing that I had to sleep on that bed again and again. The shower was also strange not hung right on the wall, so you had to hold it most of the time (not good).

OTHERWISE: Breakfast was great ,location great - nice walk to seafront and to the Torre museum, hospitality great, nice couple. Can park in their car park or on the road. Torquay very beautiful indeed, the harbour the views the sights....

Although this not part of the guest house experience, DO NOT eat at the Indian resturant in town called 'The Indian' (big resturant on top of a slope/ hill, (you'll find a bike type people carrier outside and if not someone will be riding it giving out leaflets.

....The deal stated 35 dishes eat as much as you like with varing prices for lunch and dinner. I was devestated to fine 12 dishes 6/7 were rice dishes the meat dishes were gravy with a bit of meat and the barghi's and onion rings were did not pass my lips! eve cost £9.95 the pudding I'm sure was from asda one slice only though not as much as you like and it goes on. For a weekend night it was empty bad sign.

That all folks

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rantinnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Now, I hate to moan. I don't normally moan! But unfortunately I've felt compelled to write this review of this b and b which we have only returned from today!

I booked it two weeks in advance and the owner was very helpful in organising dates etc. They have a very good website with good photo's and a nice write up. This is what made me choose the b and b, not from recommendation.

We arrive early afternoon and was greeted by the owner and shown to our room. He was extremely pleasant and helpful. When we were shown our room he told us that it was small but the quietest.

Small was definately an understatement. If I had known how small the bedroom was I wouldn't have booked. It was a single room with a double bed pushed in, there wasn't even enough room to walk between the end of the bed and the wall. There was a decent sized wardrobe which was a relief otherwise we wouldn't have been able to move at all in there. The adjoining bathroom was extremely small with a tiny shower (me and my partner are both 5'10 and over!). No power shower, so showering wasn't a great experience - and no where to put your shower gel once you're in there!

Bedtime was alot worse though, the mattress was extremely springy and from what I could tell was quite old and stained. The window was jammed open the whole duration of our stay and at night and very early in the morning you can hear every type of vehicle go past the window. On our last night, at 7.30 we were woken up by an extremely loud leaf blower below us. :(

Apart from that, the breakfast was top class. Friendly people. Tastefully decorated rooms with a nice scent. Well organised and clean.

The bedroom was just a bit of a let down - a bit disappointed as we paid £200 for a four night stay in it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We stayed at Acorn Lodge for the first time and have to say I picked a great B&B! We have 3 children and you cant find many B&B's that cater for a family of 5,but Acorn lodge did. Family room had 3 single beds and separate part with double bed for mum and dad,only request would be that mum and dad got a tv in their room like the kids had,and a firmer mattress:)

Breakfast was fantastic,cereal then a big fry up served fast and piping hot.Tea,coffee and juice too,and If you can eat any more a rack of toast as well YUM.

Friendly helpful owners and very reasonable price.You can park either on the street or in their own car park. Truly a lovely B&B for a short stay,would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wearefamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#105 of 149 in Torquay
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#28 of 149 in Torquay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Millbrook Torquay
The Millbrook Torquay
#55 of 149 in Torquay
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#64 of 149 in Torquay
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay

Property: Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay
Address: 28 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Lodge is ideally located 5 minutes from Beach, Restaurants Bars and shopping centre and a 10 minute walk from the train station. All rooms are ensuite with tea & coffee facilities, color TV, Radio Alarm Clock Towels & Toiletries. The hotel has internet access and all residents have complimentary use of a private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing