We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay
Ranked #66 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My partner, myself and teenage son have just arrived back to Bmouth after a long weekend at Acorn Lodge. We were warmly welcomed by Pauline & Pat & was shown to our room and my son to his. Both rooms were very clean & comfortable with those little added extras ie: ironing board, iron, tea & coffee with biscuits !! After we had unpacked, Pauline had made us a pot of tea and cakes which we had on the terrace. Breakfast was plentlyful with a good choice and nothing was too much trouble. Left the car outside as it was about 10 minute walk into Torquay. Would defiantly stay again. Thank you so much for a lovely stay, lots of luck for the future. Diana Chris & Thomasx

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babediana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Hopefully see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    28
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
53
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Acorn Lodge B&B in Torquay. We stayed in a family room for 5 ( 4 + a travel cot ).
The room and bathroom were very clean.
Tea and coffee making facilities were good.
The beds were comfortable and well proportioned.
There were plenty of clean towels and even an ironing board an iron in the room !

Pauline and Pat run a very clean and tidy B&B, They are very friendly, helpfull and accomomodating but at the same time un obtrusive.

Each morning we had a great breakfast of fresh fruit salad with natural yoghurt, a choice of cereals, fresh fruit juice, toast and a Full English.
My vegetarian wife was well catered for with a vegetarian breakfast cooked to perfection.
The children enjoyed cereal and a hot sandwich and a jug of ribena was also provided.

I cannot recommend the Acorn Lodge highly enough. It really is a great place to stay.

A quick tip, the car park at the rear is down a very steep set of stairs. It is a lot easier to take advantage of the on street parking to unload.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMowerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post this great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Having stayed in a few B&B's We were not expecting too much but how wrong were we!!
Pauline the owner is attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is lovely with lots of choice.
The room we stayed in (Family room) was beautiful with a lovely balcony and seperate sleeping area for the children - A really great room
Acorn Lodge is in an excellent location only 5 minutes walk to the sea front and we had a fantastic day out at Paignton Zoo which was 11 minutes drive! Fantastic!!
Book you're stay here you will not be disappointed - I know we will be back soon

Room Tip: Family room - For four people - seperate area for the children to sleep great for youn and teenage c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thanks Donna for the lovely review. Hopefully you have received the night light in the post that you forgot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Arrived at Acorn lodge to a wonderful welcome. We would highly recommend a stay here, room 3, as hotel was spotless and service was above and beyond. Breakfast was fabulous! No problem with parking the car, as option of using hotel car park and using the steps to hotel entrance from the back, or parking on the road outside and using the ramp from the front, which is ideal for anyone with a disability. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Our room no. 3 was spotless and very comfortable, little extras in room, hairdryer and iron, thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Many thanks for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again when your next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

I was delighted to find a hotel room that could accommodate 2 adults and 3 children, however it was a real bonus to receive a genuinely warm welcome.

Our family room (5) was great - spotlessly clean, huge comfy bed for us with bunks tucked around the corner for the bigger ones (aged 6 and 4). A travel cot had been set up for us for when we arrived for our 6 month old.

Despite the 5 of us in one room, it was not at all cramped. We were able to get ourselves straight immediately - popping the baby into the cot with some toys and despite nervously promising some telly after a long drive (hoping that we could work the TV) one click and we found that the channel had been left on CBeebies - genius!!! The provision of kids’ coat hangers and immaculate linen for the baby made us feel that when Acorn Lodge say that families are welcome, they really do mean it!

Breakfast was great. As well as the usual cereal and full English, a really generous fruit salad was available on both days. The homemade jam and marmalade were fantastic too.

On a practical note if you stay, try your luck finding a parking space on the road before you head for the car park. We had no trouble finding a space but only after we’d lugged our bags up the stairs from the car park, which is set at the rear (and down hill) of the front of the house.

If I could make one small improvement, it would be to put a DVD player into the room. We regularly stay at a place in Lyme Regis who do this and have a video ‘library’. Obviously you don’t come away to gawp at the TV, but the lure of watching a film in bed is a good negotiating tactic to settle over excited kids when they’re on holiday.

Overall, the warm welcome, high standards and value for money make Acorn Lodge a no brainer if you’re travelling with children. We certainly hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKMahooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, it was lovely to meet you and your family. I wish you had asked for a DVD player we have one that we are more than happy to connect up to the TV for any guest that requests it. We look forward to meeting you and your family if you are in the area again and will make sure that the DVD player is connected up :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonypandy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

we stayed two nights at this b and b ,pauline and pat who owns it are most welcomeing,spotless clean rooms and an fab breakfast ,couldent fault anything ,we will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gouvia333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Thanks for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again next time you're in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Where do I start with a brilliant experience at the acorn lodge the meet and greet with Pauline And Pat with the tea and cake ( Fruit Juice for the kids) Pat then help us up to our room with our cases( sorry about the weight of our cases) nothing was too much trouble for this hard working couple.

The family room was spacious and with a big shower room/WC the breakfast in the morning was brilliant ( favourite was the fresh fruit salad) everything about the acorn lodge was A one.

When we hopefully return to Devon next year we will make sure we stay at the acorn lodge

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlackFamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnbtorquay, Owner at Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and many thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again if you're in Torquay. Hopefully you'll get to do the open bus tour next time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#28 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Daylesford
The Daylesford
#63 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linden House
Linden House
#20 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay

Property: Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay
Address: 28 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Lodge is ideally located 5 minutes from Beach, Restaurants Bars and shopping centre and a 10 minute walk from the train station. All rooms are ensuite with tea & coffee facilities, color TV, Radio Alarm Clock Towels & Toiletries. The hotel has internet access and all residents have complimentary use of a private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing