We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
Ranked #47 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My Wife & I have just spent a few days at the Royal Hotel Babbacombe the room was first class and the service was brilliant and the food great so we have no complaints and we would recommend this Hotel to all out friends & we would certainly revisit BoB & Pauline England.

Room Tip: A Great Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BoB E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the name and location, you feel that your getting value for money. The room facilities and the view from the window were nice. We asked for a quiet room, but you can hear the television from the room next door and we were above the bar of the hotel. On returning to the room from a evening out, the noise from the bar/pub was awful. The customers were rowdy and uncouth. The noise didn't cease till 1am in the morning and I didn't see any actions from the staff to control the loud noise levels for staying residents. The staff were pleasant and the next morning, the breakfast was good. The hotel really needs to decide if it's going to be a pub for Chavs or a hotel for tourists.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mookie285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent 5* rooms with nice touches,brilliant sea views would recommend to any one very good value for money would definitely stay again.Stayed for A birthday party which was held in the downstairs lounge bar staff were very helpful and the service was second to none.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Have just returned from a few days at The Royal, very pleasant stay,very nice rooms ,and a nice sea view room.Staff are very welcoming , we cannot comment on breakfast as we were room only, but the steak we had on last night was very nice as was the treacle sponge pudding! Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is clean, the rooms are very good with great seaviews, the clifftop position is a wonderful location, drinking customers outside are a little loud at night but thats to be expected afterall its a pub and restaurant with rooms, the restaurant menu needs to be expanded a little and vegetable added as a choice. Would use this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Love this hotel lovely staff make u very welcome the hotel rooms r very clean and tidy lovely sea view very nice area .do lovely food always got music on when we go defo be back again our 5th time many more 2 come thank u all for a very lovely time when we come up xx

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellybeutner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked an overnight stay at this hotel as a we were attending the wake of a close family friend. We were pleased with the overall sensitivity of the hotel staff, as well as the excellent room.
Our room had a sea view - simply lovely, and just the quiet calm place we needed at that time.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view - its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank barefootboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#64 of 85 in Torquay
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 85 in Torquay
108 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#15 of 85 in Torquay
594 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#50 of 85 in Torquay
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Babbacombe Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Babbacombe Royal Hotel

Address: 31 Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £44 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Babbacombe Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Babbacombe Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing