We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Always a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I always return to this hotel as it's in the perfect location with a wonderful sea view. The staff are always friendly, welcoming and attentive (especially Angie on reception), the food is excellent and the rooms clean and spacious. I recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues every opportunity I get as it is always such a relaxing stay. I'm looking forward to my next stay already!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyD597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    201
    115
    60
    44
See reviews for
106
310
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

For a family gathering to celebrate a significant birthday of an elderly relative the experience failed to live up to expectations. Clearly, busy on a Saturday night especially with 80 guests from the Lions Club in for dinner service was less than attentive. On choosing a particular South African wine it arrived as two half bottles - when I ordered a second bottle it arrived as a full bottle. On ordering steak the waitress told my cousin and I that it would be a supplement of £22.50 for each steak - so we reverted to the roast pork which even my elderly relatibe thought was excessively chewy. I am sure they do better on a quiet evening or with the summer staff all engaged for the high season but we the younger members of our party were disappointed. My 89-year-old relative loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

What a pleasure to have such a friendly, warm welcome. Staff couldn't be more helpful and obliging, nothing too much trouble. There has been refurbishment since out last visit which has resulted in a warm, relaxing atmosphere. We were impressed by the efficiency of the staff and wish to thank Charles and his team in the restaurant for their attentive service. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Have just spent an extended business trip here. Room, although small was good value for money - well appointed and great sea view. The real plus at this hotel is the quality of service - traditional yes, but excellent and the staff have always got a smile and greeting.

Decor may be a little outdated but housekeeping is good and the hotel is clearly cared for and a comfortable place to be.

My only criticism is that the dinner menu is limited and pricey but the quality of food and service is good.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - the view of the bay and back to Torquay is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JON O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed the weekend at this Hotel and had some trepidations having read the reviews. Our own room in the newer part of the Hotel was quite acceptable; clean, spacious and comfortable but standard varied depending on where in the Hotel your room was situated. As it was a special occasion, our friends had hired the Perry Suite which was a lovely airy room with excellent sea views. It was also straight back to the 70's, with draylon suites complete with frills and tassles, old fashioned lamps and a coffee table with flounced austrian style overcloth and ribbons and a glass top! The bed was romantically festooned with cushions topped off with a pink velour heart. eek! Very clean and tidy but oh so dated - it looked like my granny's sitting room. Couldn't quite decide if the look was intentional as everything in good order, but as the TV was a huge ancient model (i.e. non-flat screen), guess the room sorely in need of an update. Overall, the food was good and staff very helpful and friendly. The lift had to be seen to be believed and was not for those of a claustraphobic nature. Couldn't complain at value for money, but come on Best Western, time to put a little investment into this well located hotel. Bring on the Hotel Inspector for a makeover.....

Room Tip: As for a room in the new block situated at the far end of the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Nothing but praise for the hotel and the staff - everyone very helpful and friendly. Had advice from one of the lady bar staff who recommended a day trip to Dartmouth using the 1925 steam train from Paignton. Meals at the hotel were very,very good with sunday lunch excellent and excellent value at £15.90 for 4 courses & coffee. Would recommend a visit !

Room Tip: A room with a sea view would be well worth it as the hotel is on a cliff edge ( hence the name) with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arnold m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

My partner and I got married at the livermead cliff (OMG)
So we tho we would go back on valentines day and what an great night.
We are now planing our 5 year anniversary party already
I could go on and on about this hotel but you should just stay at the livermead cliff and find out for your self

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIKK N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#51 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing