We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than 3 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
trowbridge
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than 3 stars”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed for two nights, and could not find any fault, with this excellent hotel, the staff and service , and food, are far above its 3 star rating, real value for money, particularly as we had a huge sea facihg room (no 76), will find time to go back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    214
    124
    61
    46
See reviews for
115
330
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We checked in here for just an overnight stay whilst in transit. We paid the rack rate and only realised afterwards we had paid £40 more than if we had sat in the car park and booked on line. This is an old fashioned hotel so don't expect anything special. It's advantage is that it is on the main road and has parking outside the door. Staff were friendly and helpful and check in swift. Our room was spacious, warm and clean, the on-suite was very adequate and the wifi fast and included in the fee. The bed was really soft and small, pillows horrible flat, worn out affairs ensuring an uncomfortable nights sleep. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and although service was excellent, both meals were over cooked and
unpleasant. Over all I would not recommend this hotel to fellow travellers unless you book for a very competitive price and don't mind an uncomfortable bed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for one Saturday night prior to my mother in law's 90th birthday lunch the following day. Although the hotel is wonderfully old fashioned, it is clean and welcoming. The staff are excellent, the service was extremely good and the lunch (for 25 people of varying ages) was very, very good value. As for the location. it couldn't be bettered. Great views from the lounge and restaurant.

Room Tip: Obviously one with a sea view is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two night with a very big party of people.room very compact,too much going on,very old fashioned with the lift from 1920! Blinds both broken when arrived,although,to be fair,fixed quickly but should have been spotted on cleaning!one socket to plug things in.although the Best Western book in room says choice of b& b or D,b&b, not offered choice when booked and price was per person not per room which, in November should have been in place.mentioned it to lady in Reception who said" you were aware of the price when you booked"I did, but when all other members of our party had larger rooms and we felt like we were put in the box room.only saving grace was the gent who ran the downstairs bar who couldn't, do enough.wouldn,t go out of my way to return.pricy as well

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joycelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Friendly caring staff, great food and service in the restaurant and reception. Nice setting right on the sea front. Good base for exploring coastal path through town east to Babbacombe and west to Brixham.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My partner and I were looking forward to finding a comfortable haven for two days. As we approached the southern boundary of the Torquay coast, we saw a Best Western on the sea side of the road just before Paignton. In our experience, Best Western in England usually signals desirable properties that are a cut above the average, and always interesting.

The Livermead Cliff Hotel was not attractive but there was parking and we decided to find what was available - with a sea view please. Only one remained, and we were given the key to check out the Perry Suite on the second floor. A lift, thank goodness, took us to the obscure grouping of doors leading to the suite. We turned our key and entered a fantasyland of art nouveau grandeur. I want it, I love it, I screamed. My partner was beaming very broadly indeed, his own quiet endorsement.

At the easternmost end of the living area, a large bay of windows overlooked the wide expanse of water. Across the bay to our left was spread the funfair parade of Torquay, and directly below lay the private beach and tiny bay enjoyed by the locals - and now us.

A glass topped table and chairs nestled into the bay window with two ample lounge chairs facing a huge TV. Two plush lounges adjoined the lounge area, facing each other with tables and lamps. A round table, flounced in pink and floral printed skirt attended to every whim which might arise within the generous space of the suite.

The bathroom was a suite in itself, a short passageway leading to the lavatory in another room with independent exterior ventilation. The artistry of the green tiling was itself amazing, accentuating the vast space. And, miraculously, the lighting of the vanity space was perfect for make up.

In all, the Perry Suite was probably larger than our home. We spent two wonderful days relaxing in our palatial suite, and were more than pleased with the hotel’s dinner menu, opting to dine in on both nights.

Room Tip: The Perry Suite is more than worth its extra tariff. I imagine that all seafront rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,378 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 87 in Torquay
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing