We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #44 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Leisure Break”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I, plus my sister, went for a 3 day Leisure Break - DBB, fantastic value for money! - earlier this month. As we are Gold members, we hoped for a room upgrade ...... in fact not only were we given an upgrade without asking for it, but my sister was as well! The hotel was pretty quiet - but that was fine; they'd evidently had a very busy period over Christmas and New Year. Food was delicious - especially the option of fried bread at breakfast! We only managed a 3-, not a 4- course dinner, and the homemade chocolates with the coffee afterwards were lovely. Unfortunately my husband was taken ill on our first morning there and ended up in Torbay Hospital for 5 days. I was so grateful to the Manager and Reception staff in particular for their help and concern; I was able to stay for longer than anticipated and felt very well looked after. And the cheese and red onion omelette I had one night in the bar was to die for!! Sitting in the lounge and looking out to sea, or over to the harbour - what a lovely situation! And the homemade shortbread biscuits with afternoon tea were truly scrumptious (in fact they were what led us to stay there in the first place 4 years ago!). We'll be back!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a room with a sea view - no traffic noise, and lovely views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetLiddicoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    213
    124
    61
    46
See reviews for
115
329
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torbay
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had our wedding here on the 14th Sept 2013. We would highly recommend this venue for weddings.Charles the wedding organiser was fantastic. Charles and the staff went above and beyond our expectations..They were great and very attentive.

All the guests were so impressed with the staff and the venue, and said how lovely the food was.

Perfect location with a wonderful sea view. We had a fantastic day.

Thank you all for making our day so perfect. Thank you again Charles.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

An extremely good weekend. I cannot praise the staff and the food enough, we were treated as
friends rather than paying guests. I will thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. The only
adverse comment I have is the cleaning staff may be advised to move the furniture and get
the coffee and sugar packets from the back of the dresser, these have been dropped by a
previous guest or guests, and not been noticed, although I am being picky as this in no way
spoiled a very pleasant weekend Thanks to both the Livermead and Baker Dolphin Travel
John & Sue

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjag c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

stayed at the livermead for short much needed break between xmas and new year excellant location only short walk into town with public transport just outside lovely glass fronted lounge overlooking the sea, hotel a little tired looking , but more than made up for with the excellant food , lovely attentive staff , special mention for Audrey , have stayed at sister hotel many times in torquay but really enjoyed seeing families with young children relaxed and happy and more important welcome , ,friendly atmosphere for young and old , with all age groups looked after equally ,very good value bar food when we arrived late afternoon ,recommend ,cheesy garlic ciabbatta ,and generous side order of chips ,one little point drinks including soft drinks way too expensive ,but apart from that well done to all the staff and will look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: initially checked in to single room 41 very small but as soon i expressed my concerns at being a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Decided to go to Torbay earlier, but the Berry Head Hotel were fully booked, so stayed at the Livermead Cliff. It Must be 2 years since our last stay, at that time it was buzzing with christmas parties, great food, and WAS a really good place to stay..............
This time:
1. Room ....dated, but good view
2. Bathroom Avacado suite....like to say something kind, but can't.
3.Evening Meal.....Starters pretty awful, mains (mine was an inedible lamb casserole? served up with sphagetti, and then veg???? curious!
Rest of the meal was equally awful, apart from the cheeseboard, personally I could forsake this if only We had been given more decent food for the rest of the meal!

4. One point I would like to make is that the Staff are fantastic, they are helpful and polite, but are obviously being let down by the poor cuisine offered to residents.

5. We won't be back

Room Tip: Views over Torbay are Stunning, but check out the restaurant first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Nice hotel, breakfast excellent, bedrooms need refurbishing including the need for double and king sized beds. No hot water on one of the days and the room my brother stayed in was totally inadequate for a couple. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Easy to find, on shore beside main road; good access and parking. Hotel has obviously been built in several stages. Good-value restaurant with well-cooked and -presented food and decent wine list; very good service; comfortable lounge and bar areas. Nice terraces and gardens directly overlooking bay Bedroom decor "tired" but room very comfortable with good-size en-suite. Extremely helpful, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#58 of 87 in Torquay
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,371 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,121 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 87 in Torquay
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing