We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated rooms and very poor cooked breakfast.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dated rooms and very poor cooked breakfast.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The sea view room we stayed in was dated and chintzy in decor and fixtures ,as were the bathroom fixtures with a tap that would not turn off properly and no extractor fan. The worst part was the cooked breakfast option with only one burnt sausage , one rasher of bacon and half a burnt tomato as well as a cold poached egg leading to the worst cooked hotel breakfast we have experienced in over 25 years.

Room Tip: Don't bother , it's too expensive and too dated . Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    201
    115
    60
    43
See reviews for
106
310
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

An excellent hotel, the third of the three located near to one another in Torquay, all family owned by the Rew family. This has the distinct advantage of being on the sea side of the coastal road, the garden area along the shore line, and steps down to a small secluded beach.
I have stayed in the other two, the Corbyn Head and the Livermead, and could not fault them.
This time was seeking peace and opportunity for quiet reflection in a quality environment.
Whilst the latter was provided, at acceptable cost, the peace and quiet was not secure throughout an extended weekend.
The existence of a function suite enabled the hotel to offer receptions, parties and the like; and it was clearly the venue of choice locally. Sadly, the parental control of children attending for several hours on two days fell well short of my expectations (I am over 80), with unrestrained rushing around the grassed area and unlimited shouting. Not an easily tolerated circumstance, and one which the management may wish to consider with some care, if continuation of return visitors is not to be prejudiced.
As a moderate pipe smoker I was somewhat surprised to find that I was banned from even smoking on the balcony; but more significantly, that it was a shared balcony anyway!
Feel slightly short-changed, but in all other respects, not least the culinary achievements, cannot seriously fault the hotel.

Room Tip: Check whether balcony is exclusive to the room, and what may be held in the function room while you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
677 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Lovely traditional hotel, very clean and tidy and quiet (some band noise on a Saturday night but nothing to worry about), some rooms a little tired. Staff excellent, helpful and pleasant. We only had breakfast which was OK but not exceptional. Superb view and excellent function facilities. Reasonable car parking but quite difficult to exit and turn right because of the flow of traffic on a busy road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is in a lovely location wiht beautiful views of the bay, other than that I really can't recommend it.
The room I was given was cold and very dated. The bed uncomfortable (blankets?!?) and no blinds in the bathroom (which with large halogen light outside shining straight in didnt feel very private!)
Staff were lovely but they really do need to bring the hotel up to date and up to standard for a Best Western.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank QueenieRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, Cornwall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked the Livermead cliff as a group,and received such a good price for dinner bed and breakfast for two days we did not expect a lot, so were pleasantly surprised with the hotel.
Our room (53) was very pleasant (we did pay a little extra for a sea view) which was well worth paying in my view. Our room was quite large with a good sized bathroom and french door to shared balcony with steps down to garden and short path to small beach. The evening meals, four course were excellent with four choices for each course, combine that with the freshly cooked full English breakfast each morning and I certainly went home having put on a couple of pounds. The staff were all very courteous especially the manager who was both very efficient and good fun and prepared to go "that extra mile" to accommodate our group who are all vintage and classic car owners and attended the hotel complete with cars. They even put out bollards with our club name attached to them to reserve parking spaces so we could all park together. All in all a good experience we will certainly be going again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view, excellent, also much quieter on the sea front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52Dave_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#51 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing