We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well sighted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Seaton, United Kingdom
1 review
“well sighted”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent food...hot food served on hot plates. Comfortable bed with prestine white crisp sheets...........pity I had to ask for the tear-off slip from check-in reservation to show for extras to be added to my room bill......and
ordered newspaper never arrived first morning so cancelled the remainder.
Otherwise friendly willing to help staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    205
    120
    61
    46
See reviews for
110
319
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Nice staff shame about the building. The place looks like it has been dragged back from the Sixties. The lounge furniture is old and the tables are Formica topped. The bed was uncomfortable as all the springs around the edging where busted.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have mixed feelings on this place. The view and location of this hotel is fantastic and beautiful, but that is about it. The staff was nice and friendly. The room was very small which wasn't our main issue here, it was the heat. Our room was so hot and we do not know why. The radiators were all off, we even had our window open and asked for a fan from the reception, but still it was so hot. The fan didn't really blow any air at all and it was a good size fan also. It was a horrible uncomfortable night. We only had 2 electrical sockets to use. 2 near the desk area were broke, the one near the TV was so low that the plugs did not fit in it so our only working 2 were the ones near the bathroom/front door at the bottom where we had to sit our coffee maker (on the floor) to heat up the water cause it wouldn't reach anywhere else. Our internet connection was very bad as well all night.

We had breakfast in the morning and though the food was good I was very put off because when I did go up to get some orange juice, one of the glasses had old lipstick on the rim still from where it was not cleaned correctly. I am glad I saw that. It was very gross.

I am not one to give horrible reviews or complain really but if it's bad then it's bad. We wouldn't stay again even for the view. Maybe we just had bad luck that day, someone saw my husband coming into our room with the fan and was surprised because their room was too cold. So I don't know but I do know our experience was not very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilleBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel is first class with excellent and friendly staff and deserves more stars than it is allocated.
The rooms are clean and well serviced and the food 'par excellance'. I would not hesitate to advise my friends to book in here. The Wi-Fi is good and with the always very helpful staff who made our stay quite pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satisfiedtraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I reserved a room with sea view here recently and were pleasantly surprised to find we had be allocated a "family room", which was exceptionally spacious, and just literally a stone's throw from the shore! It was magnificent in all but one respect - the wardrobe really needed some attention, with none of the three doors closable unless the adjoining door was opened slightly! Just a small niggle.

The bar and lounge area was very airy and spacious - again with panoramic view across the bay, comfortably furnished and well-appointed. The waiter behind the bar although just out of short trousers in appearance was absolutely charming and very efficient.

We moved in to the sumptuously appointed dining room to be greeted by another charming member of staff - this time a young lady who showed us to our table and presented us with the extensive set dinner menu of four courses plus coffee. She took our drinks order and this was delivered by a the head waiter in elegant and pristine dinner jacket complete with fresh button-hole and patent leather shoes. Our first course arrived in a very short space of time and proved delicious. The rest of the courses were equally flavoursome and beautifully presented. Service throughout was seamless, indeed faultless - but even more remarkable was that the waitresses were all of foreign origin, spoke perfect English and executed silver service perfectly!

We headed for our bedroom quite early and spent a leisurely few hours relaxing in the comfortable armchairs in the room and gazing at the vista before us - Torquay by night!

Breakfast the following morning was a very civilised affair with a good buffet selection and extensive cooked selection which was served to tables. I had bacon and poached eggs which was cooked to perfection and without having to ask, copious quantities of toast arrived on the table.

We checked out later with the same charming lady who checked us in the previous night. She was genuinely interested in our trip - where we had been and where we were going next etc. that it totally took my mind off the amount of the bill! No, our one night stay didn't come cheap, but as I had no real complaints about the place - it would be churlish to complain about the final cost.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#50 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#56 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing