We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    201
    115
    60
    43
See reviews for
106
310
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here with a U3A party. The staff could not have been more attentive.Tthe food was terrific with a great selection which changed every night. It's no mean task serving 40 people returning from a coach trip at the same time but the plentiful and cheerful staff managed this with professional ease.There was an equally good breakfast menu to satisfy all tastes and requirements. We were lucky enough to be allocated a sea view room and the scenery was stunning. There are plenty of areas to sit outside either on a roof top patio or in the pleasant gardens with views of the sea and Torque town across the bay. The rooms were a little tired but very clean and ours (Room 21) was large with a full sized bath and shower. They whole place was kept very clean and nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. While we stayed there for 5 days there was entertainment every evening, although you would need to check this as I'm not sure this wasn't put on as we were a large party and the hotel wanted us to keep us in the bar :-) If we are in the area again I would happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 21 first floor with a sea view. Quite and only up a few stairs to reach it,but far enough away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichester uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights just over a week ago. The position of the hotel is great, right by the sea. Our rooms had a sea view which was beautiful by day or night. The hotel itself is a little bit dated and I haven't seen a lift like this for a long time. It did the job but could potentially pose a bit of a problem for disabled people. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was quite refreshing to have such attentive service in the restaurant. We felt Charles had the right attitude in that nothing was too much trouble for the guest. On the second night of our stay we had one or two issues with the food which we thought would not have happened if Charles had been there but unfortunately it was his night off! The problems were sorted out but it rather spoilt what was otherwise a pleasant stay. Overall though, we would return as it is good value for money and the hotel's position by the sea can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Definitely pay a little bit extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linfturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our first-time stay at the Livermeade Cliff Hotel was the perfect jump-off point for all our trips to the wonders of Devon and Cornwall. Its beautiful location on the Southwest coast of England means you can walk out the sand and take a swim any time you like. Its ample parking is especially appreciated for anyone who has a car. All staff members were friendly and helpful. Need to know how to drive to Port Isaac or anywhere else in Great Britain? Ask Anthony and you will get perfectly listed directions that are better than a Garmin's. Everyone made us feel special! We loved the on-site restaurant, bar (with a friendly pub-like ambience) and gathering areas featuring evening music and daytime views of the water.The cute city of Torquay has good shopping and delicious restaurants, with the best freshly caught fish we have ever tasted.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5. It was large and had an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are an older [working] couple and quite fussy over accommodation but had a superb break here with no complaints whatsoever [booked on line via Best Western Hotels].
The situation of this Hotel is excellent - overlooking Torquay Bay and, overall, we were pleased to find out that all the features mentioned were correct or ever better than described on the website; a sea view room would probably be essential for a relaxing stay.
We had a long weekend holiday break and were allocated a lovely, large,comfortable, quiet sea view room with sofa and queen size bed. The food was excellent and the 4 course [plus coffee] dinners were all absolutely superb in quality [and quantity]. Perhaps the wine was a bit pricey but, overall the Hotel was excellent value for money.
The Hotel is obviously popular for local functions so that it a recommendation in itself.
Local bus service close by and entertainment at the sister establishment [Livermead House Hotel] - were welcome features; we can't wait till time permits our next stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Sea are quieter and have lovely views of Torquay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYMOND099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torbay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I went to this hotel for my friends wedding yesterday. I didn't stay over night so cannot comment on the rooms. The food was really yummy and presented with care. The lady who helped me last night to get a hair band showed me excellent service. She went out of her way to help me. I just want to say thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nicolatorbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#51 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing