We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 5 days at a great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We have just return from a five day break at the Livermead Cliff Hotel. We loved every minute of the holiday. When we arrived at the Livermead Cliff Hotel we were looking for a room with a sea view. Unfortunately they did not have a Double Room available. We were shown the Suite and feel in love with the view it was fantastic and the room was amazing and so was the price. Service was really great and we just had to ring for tea for 2 and it was up in a few minutes. The food was very good but found it all too much the sweets were to die for.My Husband just loved the view and the space in the Suite was just like living in your own home. We found the staff very helpful and very polite at all times. Some of the Hotel is a little worn out for example the lounge overlooking the sea the chairs are a little grubby and I did smell a little dampness in the lounge. The lift definitely needs replacing but didn't break down.
Enjoyed our stay here and would go again. Lynn and Hamish from Surrey.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2009

Hotel staff were helpful, friendly and efficient; the room was spotless and always prepared to a high standard. Dinners were tasty and imaginative.
The hotel lift has a mind of its own so is best avoided. This is the only negative comment; our stay was enjoyable and excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trolly-rocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Pleasant enough hotel, obliging staff,good mingling areas; great sandwiches. Full english breakfast was cold.
Average rooms but bed below average - not much padding between you and the bed springs. suggest you take a camping mattress with you if you are not the complaining sort.

1  Thank samsongCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We have just spent 3 days at Livermead Cliff and couldn't fault it all. We had a family room overlooking the sea which was huge and spotlessly clean including the decor. The hotel backs right onto the sea with access to a secluded little beach which was great for the children. We arrived early to avoid the traffic ( 10am ) and were given the room key straight away. The staff were very friendly and made us very welcome. The lounge has wonderfull sea views and leads into a garden which was lovely to sit in and watch the water skiers etc. The meals were fabulous with a 4 course dinner each night. i can honestly say its one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in. The only thing you should know ( which their website dosnt say ) is that there is no outdoor pool at the moment as they are having work done but it didnt affect our stay at all and guests can use the pool as their sister hotels which are literally a few metres away . I'll certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

The room was above avarage in size, though a little rough around the edges. Car park was a little on the small size and we had difficulty find in a place after arriving at about 6pm. Staff were pleasant. Lift was a bit small as could only fit one person in it with our bags. We stayed here on Valentines day and took advantage of their Special Meal.
The breakfast was good with a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

The rooms in this hotel are tired and old like most of the guests that stay here. The place feels very shabby and well past its best. However, the staff are really friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is right by the sea, which is lovely to wake up to, it is a little bit too far out of the town, making it a bit of a mission to find somewhere to eat in the evening. The hotel offers a set menu for 25 expensive pounds and this does not include drinks. The best thing that can be said about this place is that the car park is spacious.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We went for a long Valentine's weekend, after phoning to check the heating was back on after reading a review from the beginning of the year here.
Whilst there was still some building work being done externally (seemingly re-doing the pool, which will be great in the summer, if we get one, as it overlooks the sea) and a few last touches inside when we arrived (decorating the reception area) this didn't really affect us, we were glad to note.
Our room was pretty decent, despite the scaffolding slightly detracting from a fabulous sea view and the discovery early on of a leak in the bathroom. We were swiftly and without fuss offered a larger family room with an even better view and no scaffolding!
The breakfast was good and the extensive Valentine's evening menu was great!
Excellent service by helpful, friendly staff. Just what you want.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeceNLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#59 of 86 in Torquay
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#44 of 86 in Torquay
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,011 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel

Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £61 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing