We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #44 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Dudley
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This is the second time we have as a group have stayed at this hotel and we found it as perfect as the first time. The rooms all comfortable and clean ( some needed a little update)
were warm and cosy with some wonderful sea views. The food was really good with plenty of variety and the staff very helpful and friendly. in fact we liked it so much we have booked to return next year,

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DudleyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    205
    120
    60
    46
See reviews for
110
318
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed with friends June 2009 and waited some time to write this review because of the bizarre events that took place over the weekend of our stay involving the police.
Firstly the hotel :-
Sadly, the best staff offered no better than minimum professional politeness whilst the worst,one of the reception staff, was nothing less than unhelpful and rude. The rooms, for which we paid a premium for sea-view, were tired and outdated with a standard 4' 6'' double bed, old furniture, a hole in the bathroom door and 1970/80's sanitary ware. The food was uninspiring and at breakfast the cold selection ran out of yoghurts, fruit, some cereals milk etc-poor. At dinner, some serving staff didn't understand English, the white wine was warm and choices were unavailable - it goes on.
It was a hot weekend and the rooms were for us unbearably warm.
Secondly the robbery:-
That night, the hotel had spare capacity and allowed a group of ' walk-ins' without reservations to stay the night. They returned to the hotel late at night the worse for wear on intoxicating substances some of which appeared to be alcohol. In what turned out to be the most interesting night in a life of travel using hotels in many countries,we were robbed in our bedrooms whilst asleep. We were then woken up at 6.30am by a 6'2'' man climbing into our bed - so 'out of his tree' that he didn't know where he was. When he dropped his trousers and got into bed, my wife escaped to the bathroom. He then promptly fell asleep next to me! It was then that we realised £400, credit cards, mobile phones, glasses, wallets etc were missing.

The police were called, arrests were made and most of our goods recovered (except a £500 camera still missing).
The hotel offered us nothing by way of compensation but we had to argue for a reduction-1 night free. We have not ever received a written apology or any communication from the owners or management, yet after such events we were clearly shocked and upset. (For brevity I haven't mentioned all the events of that night.)

Clearly it could be argued that this was a 'one-off ' and to some extent I agree that this was the case, BUT, the hotel's response was appalling. Furthermore, this hotel was already barely adequate for the price paid. Customers have a right to expect better than this and this should affect this hotel's reputation and any future business.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights while attending a conference in Torquay.
The hotel is quite old fashioned, but extremely pleasant, the room was very comfortable, clean and in good repair.
Plenty of tea and coffee provided, and great to have a teapot (sounds daft, but I do prefer a teapot when making tea!)
Slight noise from fellow guests in the night, but thats normal for any hotel!
Breakfast was very pleasant, just not the fastest service, but well cooked and good flavours.
Night porter very helpful behind the bar when we got back late and fancied a few more drinks.
Hotel very busy with 'events' but never felt overly intruded upon.
Wouldnt hesitate to stay again, despite hearing other guests complain about music late on the Friday night- oddly we were still up at the time they claimed to have been kept awake and know the band had left!- think they were hearing noise from another hotel!!!
Lovely views across the bay to Torquay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat1Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Had a very nice time,well looked after by all staff.rooms cleaned daily and couldn't do enough for us during my stay.will definatly go back and reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattylayton07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Stopped here in the best week of the summer with our little dog, very expensive for quality of the room and somewhat unimaginitive cuisine; same tired vegetables every night, although the meat course was above standard. Bathroom was unbelieveably small with an angled loo seat that became detached at every opportunity. Carpets were stained and walls needed redecoration. On the positive side the Manager and Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The Lift was a little precarious to use although it always got there in the end, providing one could open the gate to get out. The fire door immediately at the top of a flight of stairs had a habit of closing suddenly and pushing one downwards onto the next landing.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March Cambridgeshire
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We had a Probus group on holiday at the hotel (all retired) and were treated very well.
The restaurant was excellent including the service.
A great location for using public transport if required
The rooms were very mixed in size and caused a few grumbles.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProbusClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Myself and my other half stayed at The Livermead Cliff Hotel for a Weekend in the middle of september. We had a fantasic time! Food is excellent, Rooms were lovely and Clean, and the Staff are The best i have ever come across for there service, nothing that you ask them is too much, they go out of there way to help you which ever way they can.
During our stay there was a wedding being held in there function room, it looked so lovely, and everyone looked like they were having a great time.
We had no problems with parking during our stay either. We simply asked the manager where we could park where it wasnt going to be a problem for the wedding party. Both the manager and assistant manager were both extremley helpful and friendly. We will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairy088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#50 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#56 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing