We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPLENDID HOTEL”
Review of Corbyn Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corbyn Head Hotel
Ranked #57 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
SUTTON COLDFIELD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SPLENDID HOTEL”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We Recently Returned ToThis Hotel For a Short Break This IsOur Second Visit This Year And We Have Frequented ThisHotel For Many Years,And Still Find The Experiance Most Enjoyable We Stayed In A Premier Room Where The Views Over The Bay are Fabulous,The Room Was Nice And Clean & well Presented With Ample ComplimentryTea,Coffee &Buiscuits .All The Staff Are so friendly and accomodating.There are two RestaurantsThe Orchid(A SUPPLEMENT IS CHARGED IF YOU EAT HERE)And The Harbour View This Is Where We Dined The Food In The Harbour View Is Very Good Indeed With A Good Varied Menu In The Evening .Breakfast Is Served In The Harbour View And Again A Good Varied Menu Is Available.We Look Forward To Returning To This Hotel Again And Would Recommend It.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBSuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    127
    56
    37
    32
See reviews for
79
248
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Having been temporarily been made homeless due to water damage we chose this hotel mostly for its great location on Torquay sea front. The sea view room was worth a little extra even though it meant some traffic noise. The mini United Nations of staff all seemed to genuinely enjoy their work, the service was efficient and delivered with smiles throughout. Despite the rather dated decor the rooms were warm, clean and spacious. The food in the Harbour View restaurant was excellent, we stayed for nine days and there was something different every night. Dinner, bed and breakfast was good value for money.
We would definitely return to stay and would recommend this hotel to couples wanting a relaxed, value break with breathtaking views, excellent food and an easy walk to the town.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room on first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinemorris39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

With wonderful staff, marvellous food, a very comfortable bed, and great value for money this hotel is very hard to beat. Sipping a San Miguel in the bar with the sea a stone's throw away, I was transported back in time to halcyon days spent in Spain. With a level walk to town, ample car parking and a sunny and sheltered swimming pool, the hotel has everything...One small grouse: the en suite - though spotlessly clean, needed a little TLC.
I'm already planning my next visit for the end of May, and looking forward to that first glass of San Miguel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

The incredibly helpful staff, the quaintness of the hotel, the sea views and the fantastic food gives me no hesitation in recommending this fantastic little hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff even remembered me from my previous visit. It made me feel special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie041_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Although a very nice hotel and situation the hotel itself is in need of some TLC! The food is excellent in the restaurant but the hotel itself is a little dated. We stayed 2 nights at the hotel and had a good look around the Torbay area but were a little disappointed with the towns - they are very run down and tacky shops everywhere. I was looking forward to seafood, in particular, crab but apart from Brixham never saw it anywhere on the menu!!
Amazingly, apart from the receptionists the hotel is run entirely on foreign nationalities who were very pleasant but sometimes difficult to understand!

Room Tip: No good for anyone with walking problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Have visited this hotel several times over several years, each and every time from the lovely Receptionists, waiters, waitressess, housekeeping et al it is our little piece of heaven!
Nothing is too much trouble, the food is always delicious, varied and beautifully presented.
Rooms are excellent and comfortable, with many having amazing views of the bay, cannot recommend The Corbyn Head Hotel highly enough.........Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0ydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Two night stay; we had booked a 'sea view room' but on arrival due to the hotel being full we were upgraded to a 'balcony sea view room'. Unfortunately room 70 has a partially obstructed sea view in so far as any view towards Torquay and the beach is blocked out by a hotel wall covered with rusty pipes and peeling paintwork . The room was however spacious and comfortable though why in this day and age one has to make do with mixer taps for the shower rather than an electric or pressurised unit, I don't know. The blue formica sink top in the bathroom was also very 1960s.
That said food in both the Harbour View restaurant and the Orchid restaurant was of a very high standard - in fact the Harbour View was so good I am not sure the Orchid was worth the extra premium though the food was that little bit better than downstairs. Service was very good and the majority of the staff very responsive and friendly.
All in all a comfortable and enjoyable stay though a room with a proper sea view and without a balcony (that we didn't need in February) would have been preferred.
One final word of warning, even on the second floor the noise of the passing traffic from the very budy coast road could clearly be heard though I guess this is the same for most hotels along this road.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#50 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#54 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbyn Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbyn Head Hotel

Property: Corbyn Head Hotel
Address: Torbay Rd, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Corbyn Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Corbyn Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corbyn Head Torquay
Hotel Corbyn Head
Corbyn Head Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing