We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”
Review of Corbyn Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corbyn Head Hotel
Ranked #57 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“disappointed”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

On checking in the girlsat reception were very polite and informative.First impressions of the hotel was disappointing,the hotel looked very very dated and in need of modernisation. Our room was right at the back of the hotel with a railway track running behind it. Our overall impression of the room was again very very disappointing,the furniture was very tired with chipped paintwork, the dressing table stool was very rickety needless to say i did not use it.The bedding consisted of sheets and blankets which had seen better days,the blankets were coming apart around the edges they were also marked, which was not a good impression to say the least, which meant for our 2 night stay we just slept with the sheet over us. There was dirty marks around the light switches and tea stains on the wall by the bed.The wardrobe was a rail with a curtain as the door. The bathroom was the best part of the room,it was clean and although the shower was just a pipe coming off the hot and cold taps with a small shower head which you regulated by adjusting the taps, we always had hot water when we needed it .The window in the room had secondary double glazing which was very difficult to open
once we managed to open it , the main window just would not open.The restaurant
which we had breakfast in,again needed to be updated,the work station`s that the waiting staff use were like something out of the ark,as was the cutlery and crockery.On the table next to ours on the first morning we was there, a lady poured herself a cup of tea and there was a crack running all the way down her cup,this should never of made it out of the kitchen.On a positive note the breakfasts were very good,there was a good choice,and if you wanted more toast,tea or coffee the staff was very accommadating, The head waiter and his staff were very passionate and offered good customer service,they were very friendly and were clean and tidy.The only thing i did not like was that the breakfast cereals were in large open containers, and at the end of the breakfast sitting any left overs were just cling filmed presumably for the following day,i think it would be better if they were in concealed containers so that contamination of any kind could be kept at a minimum.Also one of the waiting staff, whilst relaying the table put the clean cutlery about to go onto the table onto a chair that only a few minutes beforehand someone was sitting on.
.
Overall i do not think this hotel offers good value for money,£100 a night for the room that we had was very excessive to say the least.A refurbishment is very much needed,especially when you see some of the other surrounding hotels on offer.

The waiting staff in the restaurant apart from the one negative which i highlighted,were a credit to the hotel very customer focused and passionate about their work.

The menu choice for breakfast was excellent,as was the food.

Room Tip: The best rooms seem to be the front facing sea rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlett085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    131
    56
    39
    34
See reviews for
81
255
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed for 2 very enjoyable nights, but hope to re-visit soon! The staff were very friendly. Our room was large and clean with fantasric sea views and a private balcony. It was a lovely 20 minute walk along the sea front into the centre or Torquay. There was plenty of car parking at the hotel. The food in the harbour restaurant was delicious, The seafood starter was the best ever! The waiting staff were very attentive both in the restaraunt and also in the lovely lounge where unlimited coffee was served after dinner. The saturday evening entertainmant provided by Gin&Tonic was very enjoyable too, it was a shame them had a very small audiance, but they kept the few of us there well entertained! The only negative was our room was very close to the main road, however, it was a small price to pay for an othertwise great location & hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly187061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We went to this hotel early Dec and booked a sea view double, as there was some christmas parties on we were put in the Penthouse so we were not disturbed by any noise, although we were invited to join in, but arranged a night at the theatre to see a show which was called that will be the day " Fantastic ", but now back to the Penthouse, it was just heavenly picture windows of the sea from lounge and one of the bedrooms which had a great on suite, kitchen a second bedroom with a small on suite, all this at no extra cost just could not believe it, The breakfast included everything you could ask for which included the service excellent, the front of house were so helpful it was a lovely short pre christmas break made more enjoyable by the staff Thankyou.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This was an unplanned stay and first time visit. The staff were friendly and helpfull and the restaurant food and service first class.The lounge and bar are very comfortable as was our bedroom. Nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Sea views are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynt16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

One night here, convenient for the town and harbour, though not really walking distance.Our room had a sea view, and view across the harbour. Ample parking, and even a disabled space right by the entrance. Friendly check in, we arrived too early to check in straight away but we were told we could leave our bags there. After a couple of hours in the town, back to the hotel and our room was ready. Plenty of space, clean. A couple of hours to rest and then back into the town for a few drinks and something to eat.
There was a little noise in the room as the hotel is right by the sea front and a busy road outside, but as the night got later the noise died down. A comfortable nights sleep.
Breakfast was a traditional English, and a full plate, lovely cuppa tea too. The staff were all very friendly and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicostag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My wife and I are regular [3/4 times a year ] to this quite exceptional Torquay Hotel - the Corbyn Head, and have just come down here again for a few days over the May holiday. To our surprise,and delight , we were given our very favourite room No: 26 ! It is roomy and spacious, immaculate with its facilities, including a full 3 piece suite and a fantastic view to boot and ,as always, exudes a most friendly and comforting ambience. We have been so contented with this visit that we are considering returning for the Xmas break , especially if we can reserve ROOM 26 !

Well done to all the wonderful Staff at the Corbyn Head !!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed in family room no 26 for 2 nights, shocked at state off beds huge sick stains on blankets and disgusting brown stained pillows on both beds. Bathroom covered in mould around bath carpet thread bare and dirty. Needless to say only used bathroom when desperate, used reception toilet. Chairs in room sank to floor when sat on and walls covered in dirty marks
Only positive was good food. Very tired and run done hotel not worth £315 for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Avoid until refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
854 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
564 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 87 in Torquay
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbyn Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbyn Head Hotel

Property: Corbyn Head Hotel
Address: Torbay Rd, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Corbyn Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Corbyn Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corbyn Head Torquay
Hotel Corbyn Head
Corbyn Head Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing