We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like living in a "BUS STATION"”
Review of Corbyn Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corbyn Head Hotel
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

This is a very disgusting hotel with very bad service. Please don't get impressed that they are on the beach as they are not...! There is a very loud and busy main road between the hotel and the sea. They have very small swimming pool that's not available to swim most of the year. Very cold water as I touched with my hands due to not being allowed to swim. Cheap hospital quality food. Rude reception. You can not choose which table you would like to eat, I mean like sea view or by the toilets etc. and there is no way of choosing as all the tables are numbered by the room number and you are stuck with the same table for breakfast, lunch or dinner with prison food they serve. The manager shouted at my husband when we kindly asked for sea wiev and offered to pay double when the restaurant was absulutalely empty. You don't get to see the sea easily anyway because there is a big busy road between this ugly hotel and the sea. I regret staying at this hotel and I regret my honeymoon because of them. Every morning we woke up with fire alarm testing or by buses & truck noises !

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank silviarossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

I'm not a fan of the traditional sunday lunch with its rather plastic meat and desserts that had been prepared the night before but a group of friends were going here so I tagged along. I was very pleasantly surprised, my lamb was cooked to perfection and the whole meal was excellent. The staff was very attentive and my one minor grumble was at the common attempt to make the Eton mess not to look a mess. Less shaving cream and more meringue please. However I certainly look forward to going here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My husband and I returned for a 4 night break from 21st to 24th March and received yet another wonderful welcome. We had a sea view room, wth a balcony. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The chairs on the balcony were equipped with comfortable cushions allowing us to sit outside, relax and enjoy the lovely views.
Traditional Breakfast Menu has a very good choice. Fresh fruit, meats and cheese were also available. Evening Dinner was once again superb with excellant choice all beautifully cooked and presented. (Our compliments to Chef and his Brigade) All the staff are very friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. A special thank you to Mr Anthony Rew (for the delicious Dover Sole) and also to Angie in reception who is always so helpful. We would thoroughly recommend this lovely, friendly hotel and look forward to returning

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyceB187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had a 7 day break last week in September, on arrival met by friendly staff and helped to our room with luggage. We had a sea view room with a balcony, room was spacious clean and comfortable. Our dinner was excellent as was all meals taken. Staff were all very friendly and helpful nothing too much trouble. Would recommend to our friends and we will return.

It would have been nice to have a modern flat screen television in our room the one we had was rather old.

Room Tip: would recommend a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Me and a friend stopped here from Friday 30 August to Monday 3 September, we returned after stopping here the previous year.

As last year the rooms were clean and tidy, the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was 5 star again, you could have a choice what items you wanted on the breakfast, and it didn't take long for it to arrive after it was ordered.

Will be stopping here again next year when we visit Torquay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here during the week 27th August with our baby daughter. We stayed for 2 nights and have never felt so welcomed and looked after. The reception staff and waiters were absolutely brilliant. They were so helpful, especially with a demanding 11 month old! The room we stayed in was large enough for a a travel cot and we had a partial sea view room. We were so lucky to see a fireworks display and a red arrows display during our stay. The view from the hotel was spectacular. My wife and I will definitely stay here again.

Thank you for all the staff for such a memorable holiday to Torquay.

Regards

Mr, Mrs and Baby Mistry

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Sundip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Gorgeous views from front of hotel, excellent food in restaurant, and only a 15 - 20 minute walk to waterfront Torquay area. The staff are all wonderful; nothing is too much trouble. The room we stayed in was at the back and was fairly dated, but very clean, and the friendly, helpful staff and fantastic food more than made up for it. Would definitely recommend dinner at the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cath2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#44 of 85 in Torquay
417 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.8 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbyn Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbyn Head Hotel

Address: Torbay Rd, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £42 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corbyn Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Corbyn Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corbyn Head Torquay
Hotel Corbyn Head
Corbyn Head Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing