We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not waste your well-earned money”
Review of Corbyn Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corbyn Head Hotel
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not waste your well-earned money”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

On arriving at the Corbyn Hotel August 2012, we were expecting to stay in a very smart, modern and hygienic hotel, as illustrated by the photographs on the Corbyn Hotel's website; unfortunately we found that the Corbyn Hotel was the exact opposite. We booked for a week, we stayed 10 minutes. A brief overview of our experience: The rooms were dated (yellow stained telephone and radio alarm), filthy (stained carpets, dirty, 70's bathroom suite), worn, smelly bed covers, the balcony glass door/windows were smeared with grime, ruining the sea view that we had payed a £1000 for. On presenting the hotel staff (male staff weaing morning suit??) with our room's bedside lamp, whose shade was was hanging from the base with stretched blutack, they appeared unconcerned and oblivious to the terrible condition of the lamp.We lost our £340 deposit but we could not have stayed there. The Grand Hotel Torquay was our saviour, a hotel, we've been back to since.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    127
    56
    37
    32
See reviews for
79
248
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flodigarry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

From his meticulous attention to detail in helping us plan our big day, to the beautiful delivery of our dreamy wedding package, Anthony Rew and his superb team at the Corbyn Head Hotel (and at the Livermead Cliff Hotel too) was faultless, intimate and highly professional. We could not have chosen more wonderful venues for our 'boutique' wedding day and evening. As for Head Chef Wayne's delicious wedding breakfast ... well, watch out Anthony - if Egon Ronay finds out about him ...! The rest of the hotel staff were equally welcoming and friendly, the guest rooms adorably homely and the bridal suite at the "Cliff" (the Perry Suite) was unforgettably romantic. We'll be back every year for our anniversaries ... and probably some Christmases too! Thank you all so much. With our very best wishes, Graham and Donna xx

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are all superb, but the bridal suites are truly fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landrake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our first visit to this Hotel was in the 60's and we have stayed many times since down the years. We love the location, views from the restaurant out over Torbay are stunning. The Hotel is gradually being modernised but is still classified by us as "charming". The service was and always has been of a high standard, the food equally so. The present owner to his credit, is very hands on and his staff similarly attentive. On this occasion we stayed for the Valentine's Weekend, standards were upheld throughout, the Cabaret, a duo called G & T were able to play or sing pretty much anything and we could round the evening off demonstrating our "Strictly" skills. We have stayed in good class Hotels all over the World , the Corbyn Head never disappoints.

Room Tip: With a view like they've got it would be very silly to have a rear bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I recently stayed here on a bridge holiday and the hotel was excellent. The bedrooms were slightly tired, but still comfortable; the large lounge was very nice and comfortable. The food was very good, especially considering we were a large party (c. 40) all sitting down together. What really made the hotel though were the staff who did everything they could to make us feel welcome - the waiters were superb, very efficient and with a good sense of humour, the ladies at reception were friendly and very helpful, and the barman and the girls serving tea and biscuits were friendly and efficient. And the final lovely touch was when we left, and all the staff, including the manager and the chef, came out into the carpark to wave us off.

From the hotel, it's an easy walk into the centre of town (we went to the Hole in the Wall pub, which was great), or to the lovely little village of Cockington that is well worth a visit with a nice tea room, pub and craft workshops.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_and_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This family run hotel, with a great deal of personal contact from Mr Rew, continues to supply an excellent service and a great standard of food. The staff are all very welcoming and friendly. This weekend trip has been part of our series of breaks over a number of years and the hotel continues to maintain its excellent standards as well as being dog friendly. As indicated on other reviews nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Sadly we only managed to have a 3-day, off-season business/short holiday break in this family owned Hotel.
The Staff could not have been more helpful, patient and friendly.
We sought out the Chef to compliment him in person on the food, which was consistently good.
The Hotel is pet friendly and so our dog also thoroughly enjoyed his swims in the sea, his woodland walks and the friendly attention of the staff!
We would not hestitate to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Have just returned from a bridge holiday at this hotel, organised by my bridge club. A first time for the club, and the hotel! The lovely staff made every effort to ensure our comfort. The food was excellent.
The view from the hotel was lovely, just what you need in February, to be able to gaze at the sea.
A gem of a hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hylary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#50 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#57 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbyn Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbyn Head Hotel

Property: Corbyn Head Hotel
Address: Torbay Rd, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Corbyn Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Corbyn Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corbyn Head Torquay
Hotel Corbyn Head
Corbyn Head Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing