We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”
Review of Corbyn Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corbyn Head Hotel
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Plymouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed recently at the Corbyn Head as a surprise for our friends for their Golden Wedding Anniversary. From the time we called in to book and have a look to the time we left after our stay, the hotel staff could not have done more to make us feel very welcome and very special. Nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were lovely, clean and the sea view well worth having. The restaurant was excellent and they even provided a surprise anniversay cake and decorations for our special evening. We have stayed in a few hotels in Torquay, but we will definitely be returning to this one. The Duty Manager and his staff were exemplary.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poplou777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    130
    56
    38
    33
See reviews for
81
252
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have to rate this hotel as excellent as from the moment you arrive you are met by the very polite reception staff who offer you a warm welcome and arrange for your luggage to be carried to your room. We stayed in the Penthouse Apartment which is clean, spacious and has everything you need for an enjoyable stay. The added bonus of the roof garden allows you to enjoy the most amazing views of Torquay bay right across to the harbour which is stunning when all lit up in the evening. Breakfast in the hotel was delicious with plenty of choice and excellent service from the staff who are always smartly presented and polite. We had dinner several times in the bar area and the food was again delicious. I have to give a specific mention to Anthony who looked after us most evenings and couldn't do enough for us. With two fussy children with us aged 10 and 12 Anthony went out of his way to accommodate them even bringing them little treats (especially his special chocolate sticks) and making sure they were looked after and happy. The hotel is perfectly situated between Torquay town and Paignton town which we easily walked to both several times. No this may not be a modern hotel but traditional and welcoming it is with an excellent level of customer service and they get 10/10 from us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFisherFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUTTON COLDFIELD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Corbyn Head for a week in March ,we find it a very friendly hotel with excellent service ,from the reception staff to the waiters,nothing is to much trouble for them. We always book a superior room if available for the splendid sea views overlooking the bay and the room we booked has a refurbished on-suite bathroom. The food at this hotel is of a very good standard,with a varied well cooked and plentiful breakfast and the Diner menu for the evening is a delight with a good variety each evening.We have stayed here many times and always look forward to our return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBSuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We visited this hotel with a group for a conference so we were not expecting too much but it turned out to be a great stay. The room was on the front with a sea view and we had a balcony. The bathroom was perfect. Everywhere was kept clean and tidy. We ate several times in the hotel and the food was tasty and there was plenty of variety. My husband did not enjoy his venison but his plate was taken away straight away and was replaced with salmon which he definitely preferred. The service we received from everyone was pleasant and polite even bringing us room service when we chose to eat at an unusual time. The unexpected entertainment at the weekend was very enjoyable and relaxing. Although our room was over the lounge the music stopped at 11 o'clock so did not disturb us. We are considering going again in the summer.

Room Tip: We had room 53
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheilalacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

On arriving at the Corbyn Hotel August 2012, we were expecting to stay in a very smart, modern and hygienic hotel, as illustrated by the photographs on the Corbyn Hotel's website; unfortunately we found that the Corbyn Hotel was the exact opposite. We booked for a week, we stayed 10 minutes. A brief overview of our experience: The rooms were dated (yellow stained telephone and radio alarm), filthy (stained carpets, dirty, 70's bathroom suite), worn, smelly bed covers, the balcony glass door/windows were smeared with grime, ruining the sea view that we had payed a £1000 for. On presenting the hotel staff (male staff weaing morning suit??) with our room's bedside lamp, whose shade was was hanging from the base with stretched blutack, they appeared unconcerned and oblivious to the terrible condition of the lamp.We lost our £340 deposit but we could not have stayed there. The Grand Hotel Torquay was our saviour, a hotel, we've been back to since.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flodigarry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

From his meticulous attention to detail in helping us plan our big day, to the beautiful delivery of our dreamy wedding package, Anthony Rew and his superb team at the Corbyn Head Hotel (and at the Livermead Cliff Hotel too) was faultless, intimate and highly professional. We could not have chosen more wonderful venues for our 'boutique' wedding day and evening. As for Head Chef Wayne's delicious wedding breakfast ... well, watch out Anthony - if Egon Ronay finds out about him ...! The rest of the hotel staff were equally welcoming and friendly, the guest rooms adorably homely and the bridal suite at the "Cliff" (the Perry Suite) was unforgettably romantic. We'll be back every year for our anniversaries ... and probably some Christmases too! Thank you all so much. With our very best wishes, Graham and Donna xx

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are all superb, but the bridal suites are truly fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landrake, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our first visit to this Hotel was in the 60's and we have stayed many times since down the years. We love the location, views from the restaurant out over Torbay are stunning. The Hotel is gradually being modernised but is still classified by us as "charming". The service was and always has been of a high standard, the food equally so. The present owner to his credit, is very hands on and his staff similarly attentive. On this occasion we stayed for the Valentine's Weekend, standards were upheld throughout, the Cabaret, a duo called G & T were able to play or sing pretty much anything and we could round the evening off demonstrating our "Strictly" skills. We have stayed in good class Hotels all over the World , the Corbyn Head never disappoints.

Room Tip: With a view like they've got it would be very silly to have a rear bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#49 of 87 in Torquay
386 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbyn Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbyn Head Hotel

Property: Corbyn Head Hotel
Address: Torbay Rd, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Corbyn Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Corbyn Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corbyn Head Torquay
Hotel Corbyn Head
Corbyn Head Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing