We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant lunch in bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corbyn Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corbyn Head Hotel
Ranked #53 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very pleasant lunch in bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had lunch in the bar of the hotel on 25th April. The food was well prepared and the staff were efficient and friendly. Overall a very good experience. We can certainly recommend a meal with chips. These were the fat ones and were delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    125
    56
    37
    32
See reviews for
79
247
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We enjoyed the dinner here.....good food/service at a reasonable price. The breakfast was also first rate.
We booked an ordinary room on the internet and on arrival were upgraded (at no extra cost) to a sea view room. There was a large picture window overlooking the sea across to Torquay. However, I would have sacked the architect who designed the hotel. A narrow room taken up with enough wardrobe space for all the clothes I have at home. This space should have been used to make a reasonable sized bathroom. I could stand in the shower room and touch the four walls with my hands. Please note: this shower cubicle wasn't designed for newlyweds. The bed was so hard, my wife took the spare blankets to put on top of the mattress to lie on.
I wouldn't stay here again, but if I was in Torquay I might pop in for dinner

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely weekend break with my dad. Although we normally stay at the sister hotel 'Livermead House' a few yards down the road, we were definitely not reluctant to return to the Corbyn head...
We stay the Rew hotels at least two-three times a year and we completely trust the Rew family not to disappoint. The quality of the food is consistently excellent - there is so much choice for both breakfast and dinner; the meals are cooked to utter perfection and the atmosphere is so tranquil.
Rooms are always comfortable, clean and cosy. The reception staff couldn't be any more friendly and welcoming; whilst the waiters + waitresses couldn't be any more patient and attentive - the staff are a credit to this place.

The sea front location is great - The Corbyn is only a 30 minute walk away from Torquay Marina. Bonus: the sea view rooms have huge windows.

If you come and stay at this hotel, I assure that you will be thoroughly looked after and you won't ever want to leave!

Thanks for the lovely stay! We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashiana_Langley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Only stayed one night for our anniversary but what a wonderful night perfect warm welcome and staff were so helpful. Room was excellent clean tidy and everything we needed. Wonderful seaview room and a short walk to the town centre. Breakfast was fantastic and will definitely would stay again made our anniversary just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We arrived on Friday and checked in, the welcome was warm and sincere. We found our room which overlooked the Sea. The room it self was spacious and clean and I must say a very decent size. The bathroom was modern, small but modern. But as friend once pointed out you don't live in the Bathroom! On both night despite facing onto a busy road we slept soundly with little or no noise heard. The view was amazing breath taking views across the bay, scenery that you can't really explain, but words never do it justice.

Dinner; This hotel has won awards and I can see why, service was flawless and considering there were almost 50 people dining, orders were taken and dinners brought out hot on time and placed in front of the person who ordered. An mazing choice of Starters, Mains and desserts some with a supplement, but so worth it.

Breakfast was the same, flawless a great selection and a cooked breakfast that filled a hole without being too much. Toast was brought out in sensible portions that didn't go to waste. The staff smiled and kept us informed even if there was just a short wait.

I am so planning on coming back, I have stayed in several hotels and don't normally write reviews. This Hotel deserves it. Go enjoy, savour, never wish to leave..

Room Tip: First floor and up has the best rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedworth
Level Contributor
259 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Have eaten here before on visits to Torbay, always Sunday lunch and it has never faltered. Its all rather old fashioned in a nice sort of way. A sea view dining room with piano and afterwards, a lounge for coffee makes for a comfortable and pleasant experience. Immaculate waiting staff who are outstandingly polite and courteous attend to all ones needs. The food matches all the other good stuff with typically english dishes cooked perfectly, presented and served so well. A good wine list. Finally, it is fantastic value. What more can you want for? As the heading says, this is "Timeless".

Room Tip: Not stayed so only been here for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipN741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Group booking for over 50 people for the weekend for a musical contest. The whole process from initial booking, to any subsequent changes and finally the weekend itself was very relaxed and enjoyable. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful - it's the little touches that make all the difference and helped make the weekend run so smoothly. From organising the lounge for us to rehearse in, to preparing a meal ready for all of us on the Saturday night (really fantastic food), all the staff went just that little bit further to make our stay special. Great views from many of the rooms and good parking area. This is the fifth time we've stayed at the hotel and we look forward to next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.1 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#51 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbyn Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbyn Head Hotel

Property: Corbyn Head Hotel
Address: Torbay Rd, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Corbyn Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Corbyn Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corbyn Head Torquay
Hotel Corbyn Head
Corbyn Head Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing