We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Corbyn Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corbyn Head Hotel
Ranked #56 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here over Easter,had always thought it looked very good,how wrong can you be.Our first room was poor,furniture very old,shabby and broken.Balcony was overgrown with weeds and rusted rails and filthy chairs.Moved to another room which bigger, furniture just as poor,bathroom carpet very wet, holes in bed cover and towels,bedside lamp top broken off,armchair sunken in and crisps on seat..On the plus side the view was fabulous and the food was very good especially the Sunday lunch which seemed very popular (although the price was wrongly quoted to us).The swimming pool took some locating mainly because it was covered over and the surrounding area was dirty ,nothing like the lovely picture on the web site.There were workmen painting the front entrance and had to be navigated around each time you went in and out.The young receptionist was as helpful as she could be,however she said complaints had been received a lot and she was shouted at by unhappy customers (something we never do !)and she asked us to list the problems and the manager would contact us,we are still waiting.
The position and the view are excellent but they need to refurbish and maybe dump the Beethoven played at breakfast.(just a personal note)Also the dining room staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Definitely a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jr2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Don't get the wrong impression from my title, it is meant in a positive way!

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights over the recent the Bank holiday, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, in fact, if we were to return to Torquay, it would be mainly as a result of the hotel, although in the main, Torquay is a nice place to visit.

The staff here know how to provide service, in a manner that I haven't seen for some time, to a one, and all helped to make our stay very pleasant. The hotel itself is maybe a little dated in décor, that said, it really suits the place, and even if it wasn't particularly to your taste, it is very well maintained and clean. My wife commented that she half expected Hercule Poirot to walk through any moment, well, I guess Agatha Christie did live in Torquay! This is to give you an insight of the place, if you ever watched Poirot, you will understand!

It does attract the older generation, sadly, I guess we did not look out of place, but makes for a peaceful stay, nothing against the younger folk, we were all young once!

Our room (27) had a great view out to sea, and nice big windows to enhance it, as well as a small balcony with two chairs, sadly, it was a tad nippy so we didn't stay outside long, the room itself was fine, tea, coffee and biscuits replenished daily, the only negative that I could find about our entire stay was that the shower was extremely weak, and took an age to warm up, usually only tepid at best, but it wasn't a big deal, and the bath worked fine. The bar area also looked out across the sea, and for a hotel, the drink prices were not to bad. We had Sunday lunch here, and it was very well prepared, and very nicely presented, didn't taste to bad either! Breakfast was included in our deal, and certainly was more than sufficient, a small surcharge for a few items, but a full English would be included, so don't panic!

We came by train, and it is only a ten minute walk from the station, the walk to Town is probably a mile or so, but a nice walk along the front, so really quite enjoyable.

We had not been to Torquay before, its fairly nice, has a couple of down Town areas that you wouldn't hang around in to long, but that can be said of anywhere really, plus, you can get a ferry to various places, sadly, these were a little busy and disorganised during our stay, although a return trip only cost £2 each, apparently a result of a price war going on, there was a Pirate festival going on in Brixham, arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! and so it was a bit fraught, trying to get back for our Sunday lunch, just made it!

Staff here are really excellent, and the hotel is ideally situated, and at a reasonable price, if we were to return, we would definitely make a point of staying here again, so a big thank you to all at the Corbyn Head for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Room with a view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Have stayed here a few times over the years and food and staff are excellent.
Bedrooms could do with a makeover need quilts instead of blankets,and decor could be upgraded.
But would go back in an instant for the quality of food and the staff who can't do enough to help.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had lunch in the bar of the hotel on 25th April. The food was well prepared and the staff were efficient and friendly. Overall a very good experience. We can certainly recommend a meal with chips. These were the fat ones and were delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely weekend break with my dad. Although we normally stay at the sister hotel 'Livermead House' a few yards down the road, we were definitely not reluctant to return to the Corbyn head...
We stay the Rew hotels at least two-three times a year and we completely trust the Rew family not to disappoint. The quality of the food is consistently excellent - there is so much choice for both breakfast and dinner; the meals are cooked to utter perfection and the atmosphere is so tranquil.
Rooms are always comfortable, clean and cosy. The reception staff couldn't be any more friendly and welcoming; whilst the waiters + waitresses couldn't be any more patient and attentive - the staff are a credit to this place.

The sea front location is great - The Corbyn is only a 30 minute walk away from Torquay Marina. Bonus: the sea view rooms have huge windows.

If you come and stay at this hotel, I assure that you will be thoroughly looked after and you won't ever want to leave!

Thanks for the lovely stay! We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tashiana_Langley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Only stayed one night for our anniversary but what a wonderful night perfect warm welcome and staff were so helpful. Room was excellent clean tidy and everything we needed. Wonderful seaview room and a short walk to the town centre. Breakfast was fantastic and will definitely would stay again made our anniversary just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We arrived on Friday and checked in, the welcome was warm and sincere. We found our room which overlooked the Sea. The room it self was spacious and clean and I must say a very decent size. The bathroom was modern, small but modern. But as friend once pointed out you don't live in the Bathroom! On both night despite facing onto a busy road we slept soundly with little or no noise heard. The view was amazing breath taking views across the bay, scenery that you can't really explain, but words never do it justice.

Dinner; This hotel has won awards and I can see why, service was flawless and considering there were almost 50 people dining, orders were taken and dinners brought out hot on time and placed in front of the person who ordered. An mazing choice of Starters, Mains and desserts some with a supplement, but so worth it.

Breakfast was the same, flawless a great selection and a cooked breakfast that filled a hole without being too much. Toast was brought out in sensible portions that didn't go to waste. The staff smiled and kept us informed even if there was just a short wait.

I am so planning on coming back, I have stayed in several hotels and don't normally write reviews. This Hotel deserves it. Go enjoy, savour, never wish to leave..

Room Tip: First floor and up has the best rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 74,656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#44 of 85 in Torquay
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,229 reviews
0.8 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbyn Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbyn Head Hotel

Address: Torbay Rd, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £46 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corbyn Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Corbyn Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corbyn Head Torquay
Hotel Corbyn Head
Corbyn Head Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing