We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Superb Views Overlooking the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #37 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Hotel with Superb Views Overlooking the Bay”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We are regulars to Torquay and I came across this hotel online, the website looked good and ticked all the boxes for our requirements. This hotel did not disappoint me, it was furnished to a very high standard, the superking bed was very comfortable and the babbacombe bay breakfast keeps you going all day. The staff were very polite and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble.

The roof terrace was a nice feature which enabled us to read the papers while staring out to sea, the lounge suite was also very nice and peaceful giving you views across the bay.

Will hopefully be returning again at a later date.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterM268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    52
    9
    9
    4
See reviews for
42
156
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a reasonably priced boutique hotel with views of the sea and this lovely hotel ticked all those boxes. The staff were all friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay fantastic. The room (room 4) was lovely with a comfy kingsize bed and a good size ensuite with large walk in shower. When we stayed the weather was fantastic so spent time enjoying the fabulous views from roof terrace with a glass of wine. Breakfast was served in the tearoom downstairs before it opened to the public, there was an excellent choice... Just a shame the full english was too much that we couldn't eat it all. We had an absolutely fantastic stay at the Babbacombe Bay Hotel and will look forward to going back and will certainly be recommending it to friends and family!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mands1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Me and my partner decided to get away for the bank holiday and stayed at this hotel for two nights. This hotel is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in.. Offering an amazing view of the bay, gorgeous food and excellent service! The hotel has recently been refurbished with every room finished to a very high standard. The bed was so comfy :). You will not be disappointed with your stay. The only negative points would be the size of the room. We booked a double but it was a very small double (Room 9) next time we will book a suite, and there is no parking at the hotel. The hotel has a roof terrace with sun loungers and tables and chairs this would be fantastic in the summer :). The restaurant is lovely and the breakfast choice was fantastic, there is something for everybody. I'm looking forward to returning in the future..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a great boutique hotel. We hadn't book for our trip to Babbacombe & were only staying one night and when we entered the reception we were amazed at the quality of the furnishing & finish of this hotel. The receptionist was very friendly & offered to show us the room before we booked - our only criteria that it had a sea view which it did. The room, although compact & bijou had absolutely everything in it that you would need & again the finish & furniture was lovely. Breakfast in the coffee shop downstairs didn't disappoint - the waitress was charming, very attentive but not overly so. We will definitely be telling all of our friends to stay here if they visit Babbacombe - we are going again in August & will be booking one of the sea view suits. The icing on the cake was a great roof top terrace! Go before everyone finds out about it.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view, it's a little bit more expensive but absolutely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickandgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#48 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#50 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cary Arms & Spa
Cary Arms & Spa
#17 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbacombe Bay Hotel

Property: Babbacombe Bay Hotel
Address: 33-35 Babbacombe Downs Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Babbacombe Bay Hotel was fully refurbished in 2015. A characterful, boutique hotel fronted by the Downs afforded stunning views across Lyme Bay towards Lyme Regis, Portland Bill and the Dorset coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Babbacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Bay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing