We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Fish”
Review of Memories Bistro

Memories Bistro
Ranked #2 of 372 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We visited Memories again last Saturday, I enjoyed the the freshest, biggest fillet of Turbot I have ever seen never mind eaten, it was cooked to perfection as was my husbands wild Sea Bass. The puddings that followed were to die for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank babbs891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Many thanks Babbs891 for your very nice review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us, It is so nice to get such good feedback.

Gordon & Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 213 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Memories Bistro was recommended to us some time ago and after several false starts we eventually got there last week. We received a very warm welcome from Hazel. The restaurant is cosy with lots of interesting posters and signs, and quite a collection of blue and white meat plates. The menu was varied and the food wonderful. Hazel even told us how Gordon makes the amazing sauce served with the scallops! We had a great evening - fantastic value for money. Can't wait for our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosaindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Many thanks Rosaindevon for taking the time to write us a very complementary review, it is so nice for us to read such comments, we very much look forward to your next visit.


Gordon & Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We dined here for the first time last weekend with another couple. Having read the reviews we were really looking forward to our evening. A warm welcome from the owner when we arrived on a very chilly evening, therefore the dining room wasn't very warm and there was an icy blast every time the door opened.
A very tempting menu and prompt service. Delicious food marred only by the cold plates which meant the food wasn't very hot and neither were the side dishes.
Sadly no decaf coffee, which by today's standards is slightly disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DevonShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Many thanks Devon Shirley for taking the time to review us, thank you for commenting on how good the service and food was. We are sorry that you were not warm enough but the opposite is normally the case with customers asking Hazel to turn the heating down. I can't understand your comments on the cold plates & side dishes as they come out of a very hot warming cupboard and I can hardly handle them, let us know the next time you visit and I'll put them under the grill.

Gordon & Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Hazel will have you drooling with her description of the menu before she takes your order.Then when it arrives piping hot you will be disappointed ! Top food Top Service real value for money.
Thanks again see you soon.
Tony and Mary

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you Tony S. for your very nice review, we were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Gordon & Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The new Veggie is unbelievable Gorden & Hazel are definitely where they are !!!! top of the game
i will definitely be returning to try them again . What is so great is Gorden gets all the diners tastes and produces them to the full . And Hazel is the hostess with the most est x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you Mark P for your very complimentary review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your meal, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Gordon & Hazel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memories Bistro also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Memories Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing