We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such A Warm Welcombe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memories Bistro

Memories Bistro
Ranked #26 of 332 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such A Warm Welcombe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I would like to say a big thank you to Hazel & Gordon for a lovely meal it was excellent we ate here on 21st May.

Memories is such a relaxed & friendly Bistro, & the food is sooo tasty.

We certainly will be back

Thank you Hazel for the tip about 'gout' we have purchased a bottle will let you know how things progress, & also hazel for how kind of you stopping to ask how we were the next day in St Mary Church.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank westmidslady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you westmidslady1 for your very kind words about our Bistro it is much appreciated, we look forward to your next visit. Hope the cherry juice is working.


Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THANKYOU”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had not been to memories before and we are kicking ourselves.
Right on our doorstep is a gem of a place with food that I really did not
want to stop eating so I purposely slowed my eating rate down. There were
6 of us on Saturday evening (sorry for being a little late, from someone who never is!!!)
and the food was nothing short of SUPERB. The service could not be faulted, this is
a fabulous eating experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NiV0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you NiV0n for your very kind positive review, It is so kind of you to say our food and service are superb it is very much appreciated.

Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Excellent Homemade Food"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My Partner and I celebrated his Birthday on 17th May 2014 at "Memories" Bistro..You would have to go along way to find such a warm welcoming place to eat. The food was amazing, we now understand why it was so hard to book a table We will try very hard to return. Thankypu Hazel and Gordon for a lovely evening from Jenny and Steve.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks Jennifer G for your kind & positive review, we look forward to your next visit very much.


Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best food in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

on Friday the 25th of April my husband myself and two friends went for a meal at Memories Bistro in St Marychurch Torquay. we have been to quite a few restaurants in our time, but I have to say this is one infact the only one were the food was outstanding the company of Hazel the owner and Gordon owner [chief cook and bottle washer] was an experience in its self. I would recommend any one and everyone to book well in advance for a 6 star rating meal. we can not wait till june when we return to a smiling host and brilliant chief Gordon and Hazel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chassey1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you Chassey 1999 for your fantastic review it is so nice for us to be so appreciated, we very much look forward to your next visit.

Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aylesbury
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must if you are in Torquay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

4 of us went there and where blown away by the food and service.Read the other reviews they say it all it is really that good.If you are in Torquay try it you will not be dissapointed .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billyaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonw21, Owner at Memories Bistro, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Many thanks billyaylesbury for your great review, It is so nice of you to recommend us.

Gordon & Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memories Bistro also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Memories Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing