We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being back in time”
Review of Bygones

Bygones
Ranked #6 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Like being back in time”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This place is amazing, going through the years, how everything is set up like a real street real shops with all genuine products from before during and after the war, even usable arcade machines used from many many years ago, even a real steam locomotive located inside, we loved this place definitely a place worth visiting

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    811
    325
    88
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“times gone by!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

you go back in time about i think a 100 years and you see lots of things from as the title says times gone by!! we even saw The robinson gollywogs badges for those who remember ;) well worth a visit kids would enjoy as much as adults.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“IT'S OK ...BUT ..?”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The great thing about this location is that it's indoors so would suit for all weather. Once inside after paying a slighty pricey ( so I though ) I was asked if I'd like a photo guide book which I declined , thru the doors the first thing to greet me was a note saying I was welcome to take photos but would I consider a donation ? ( I think it was for charity ) - there alot to see in the street scenes and you often pointed at products you remember .More opportunity to part with your cash came in the form of the old classic arcade games
Overall , it was enjoyable, don't be put off , but I would have hoped the entry price would be sufficient ...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great for a rainy day”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great place to amuse the kids on a rainy day with lots of things to see and do and quite interactive. It is an old converted cinema. While it is ideal to amuse kids on a wet day probably the best time to go is on a nice sunny day as it will be less busy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mediclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not for disabled”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Took disabled dad, was disappointment great shop downstairs but not able to take him upstairs I expected it to all be on one floor!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 33Sylvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bygones also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bygones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing