We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to the miserable reviews”
Review of Bygones

Bygones
Ranked #6 of 62 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't listen to the miserable reviews”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

For many years, I have driven past Bygones, always wondering what it is like inside. This year, I got my own way and four of us visited. Considering the sky high price of other attractions, I thought the entrance price was very reasonable.

The displays are well thought out and it's surprising how much has been included. I think this would appeal to all ages, as there is a complete mixture of displays.Loved the old arcade machines!

The gift shop at the end contains a good range of souvenirs. Sadly, we wished we had tried the cafe, as it looked tempting...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    329
    91
    19
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting visit!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Me and my family really enjoyed walking around this museum. Even my four year old found it interesting! Would definitely recommend it. A lot of work has been put into it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leasa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Very interesting and informative, worth a visit, the trenches were very poignant. Had fun playing the old arcade games.

Helpful?
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Bygones is a great place to see so many of the items that us older ones remember from our childhood and that our parents had told us about. Absolute amazed at the variety and amount of items that are on show. Presentation was great and would appeal to young and old alike. Downside only one toilet on 3 floors. Very good value for money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheilawyatt845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“An incredible collection”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

There is just so much stuff to see, it would be helpful to have more information about what some of the things are and why some of them are so important. How did they get some of the items? The smells add to the experience and will help enhance the understanding of bygone days. Some people might say this is over-priced but this will allow us to preserve our recent past.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bygones also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bygones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing