We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good small theatre with a good show.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babbacombe Theatre

Babbacombe Theatre
Ranked #2 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A valuable asset to the English Riviera for nearly eighty years, the Babbacombe Theatre in Torquay, is renowned for wowing audiences with their highly-acclaimed variety shows, performed throughout the year by a professional cast. There is ‘Magic to Do’ as the all new family show Magic of the Stars opens its doors for the 2017 season at the celebrated venue. Colin Matthews, the show’s producer and director won the Herald Express’s, ‘Outstanding Contribution to Tourism’ Award during his 30th year at the venue in 2016. He now has a legacy to maintain, therefore ‘just for you’ he and the shows cast, invite you to join them on a two-hour journey that promises to ‘warm your heart’. ‘Humour handled by a master’ is very much in the hands of the host and headlining showman, Steve Laister. Others with, ‘parts to perform’ is divine diva, Lindsey Collard, West End actress Gail-Marie, the British Magical Champion of Illusion, Daniel Dean, the effervescent Wayne ‘Champagne’ Martin, Danze Magique, our sensational dancers and finally six youngsters we like to call the Rock Starz! Combined this cast will undoubtedly leave you with a lasting impression. Magic of the Stars features extracts from Broadway and West End shows, has hit songs that span seven decades, numerous classic comedic sketches as well as inspirational lighting, costume design, choreography, and musical arrangements. There will be no other, ‘Night Like This’ in the Bay, so if you want to enjoy a magical and memorable evening of extraordinary entertainment at Devon’s No.1 theatre (as rated by TripAdvisor), then this show will not disappoint. Check the venues website for details on all the other shows programmed for 2017 or contact the Box Office.The theatre has, Access for wheelchair users with an accessible toilet, Wheelchair spaces & Loop System
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good small theatre with a good show.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was very hot and all the doors were closed making it very uncomfortable. The actual show was good for the size of the place

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianethus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Dianethus.

Thank you for coming along to the Babbacombe Theatre. Its lovely to know that you enjoyed our show.

The venue is small in comparison to some seaside resorts, but we do have 600 seats. Obviously being built on a cliff edge there were some restrictions when they designed the Babbacombe Theatre. The architect, P.W Ladmore was specifically asked by the then Mayor of borough council, to ensure that as much available space be given to the auditorium so that the ratepayers, who funded the build could enjoy a visit to the music hall, therefore we do lack bar/restaurant facilities and our theatre foyer is quite small. Because it has a history we do try to ensure we can maintain as many of the original features as possible.

On behalf of us all we apologise you became hot. Prior to the show we did have our coolers on and doors had been open. We did have some very hot weather earlier in the month of August and during July. Unfortunately we cannot leave the inner doors open during an actual performance for legal reasons, but we do not close them until the curtain goes up and during the interval and as soon as the show ends they are opened.

We are grateful you took the time to submit your comments and 3 star review. What our patrons have to say is important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    114
    24
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“West End Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Every Thursday until the end of September there is a performance of West End musical favourites. It is spectacular, superbly professional and showcases some amazing talent.
At only £17 a ticket, it's the best value in Torbay.
Give yourselves a treat......begins at 8.15 and there are usually a few tickets available at the door.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank zojaexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear zojaexa.

Thank you very much for your support of the Babbacombe Theatre. It's always refreshing to read such a positive review from a local!

You made so many generous comments including a personal recommendation that means so much to us as does your 5 star review.

We hope it will not be to long before we have the opportunity to ENTERTAIN you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good night out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Myself and my son (12) went to this theatre to watch their West End renditions in which the entertainers sang various songs from west end shows in London. All were very good but the theatre is very tired and old with a distinctive musty smell. But this didn't ruin the evening and the staff were very polite :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marieclaire212002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear marieclaire212002

Thank you for coming to our venue to see our show, West End Now with your son. We are delighted you both enjoyed the show.

You made mention of the venue being 'tired'. I am sorry you thought that, as only 5 years ago we had a refurbishment. All the seats were removed, we had the parquet flooring deep cleaned and polished, All the seats were recovered and re-upholstered with all the fixings painted as well as having a new carpet throughout. We also had new stage curtains within the same period.

The venue opened in May 1939, so it will have some aspects which appear dated- however we always strive to make the best of the facility.

I am sorry you were aware of a musty smell- we do deep clean regularly and have a cleaner in after every show. Often we use upholstery/carpet fresheners to avoid this.

Its nice to know that your negatives, did not interfere with your enjoyment of the show. We are grateful for your support, your comments and 3 star review. We shall look forward to ENTERTAINING you again, if you return to the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Enjoyable evening.
Hard working company. A host of talent , well worth a visit
Young entertainers mixed with established ones proved to be an enjoyable combination.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Dave K.

All of us involved with the venue are chuffed to bits with your generous comments, 5 star review and your personal recommendation!
Its great to know you had an " Enjoyable evening" and felt your time with us was " Well Worth The Visit" We always aim to please!
We hope if you are in the Bay again, we may once again have the pleasure of your company.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

A really good way to spend a Wednesday evening. Great entertainment with quality acts and performers. We are planning a return trip next year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jhayne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear jhayne5.

Thank you for supporting our venue and even more so for your kind comments, 5 star review and personal recommendation.
So pleased you enjoyed your night with us.
We shall look forward to ENTERTAINING you again next year :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babbacombe Theatre also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing