We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 2 April 2011

My recent stay at the Anchorage was, as always, most enjoyable. It's an annual visit for me and I am yet to be disappointed. Warm reception, room comfortable warm and clean. The choice of food and service was excellent. A nice relaxing evening in the lounge with entertainment could not be better. The weekend was certainly good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrted123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    109
    64
    38
    47
See reviews for
47
176
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Up on our arrival we were greeted by a warm friendly receptionist.
We found the staff at all levels to be helpful, we had a two year old and a ten year old with us and nothing was to much trouble regarding any thing we wanted for them.
All in all we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinZ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

good time had by all,staff very friendly and helpfull . evening entertainment good.owner and manager both in attendance. will be staying here again. keith bristol

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

stayed for five days with ogdens travel,had a very nice room on the ground floor,beds comfortable though a little creaky.the food was good ,and our waitress was great ,very friendly and efficent.we enjoyed our stay and would certainly go there again

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muzzaMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I can't believe the review i have just read about the 'Manager Absent'. My wife and I stayed at the Anchorage Hotel, as we do 3 times a year, the same time as the so called 'Manager Absent' incident. I have never seen grown men behave the way they did. It was embarrasing to watch, we have never witnessed anything like that at the hotel before. the staff did as much as they could but when you deal with grown men who let themselves down from drinking too much alcohol and having too much male bravado then what do you expect! We will be returning to the Anchorage where we have made nice new friends and have experienced some great times in the Lounge with lovely people in a friendly warm environment. The staff are great at the Hotel, especially the waiting staff who look after us very well. My wife is Diabetic and when we walk into the Dining Room there is some warm toast waiting on the table for us. What more could you ask for. One of our friends had heard about the comments on Tripadvisor and told us, hence the long review on this wonderful Hotel. Like i have already said we go there often, it's like our second home!! We shall return!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevorjBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

would have canceled my stay if i had believed some of the reviews, we stayed for 4 days in january, staff were fantastic, rooms were clean, and the food was good, plenty of choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyandalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Travelled down to the Anchorage just for their Sunday Lunch, great choice of food all fresh and cooked well, great atmosphere, enjoyed it so much decided to stay the night and sample dinner and breakfast., both were as good as lunch.
Great job keep going!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
520 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#33 of 87 in Torquay
560 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing