We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #80 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed at the Anchorage Hotel in Babbacombe March 16th until the 19th It's a lovely hotel nice and clean, the food was good and the staff very friendly and helpfull it's in central location bus stop is just up the road.We shall be definetly be returning

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    100
    57
    35
    45
See reviews for
43
160
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We just spent a surprise three day break at the Anchorage Hotel given to us as a present from our daughters. We arrived early they let park our car and we caught a bus down to Torquay. We had a super room number 26 ground floor nice and warm at all times lovely bathroom and walk in shower, the food was very good and entertainment all three nights over all an excellent three day break

Room Tip: Room 26 Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank astralaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My wife and I, both retired teachers, spent a most agreeable four days here in January 2012. It was in response to a special offer in the national press and we were in no way disappointed. Staff most helpful and obliging. The building itself is a quaint labyrinth of corridors and rooms, warm and well-lit. Our twin room spotlessly presented. Beds comfortable, bathroom clean, newish digital T.V.with perfect reception on all channels, plenty of storage in wardrobe and drawers, Good free Wi-Fi access in rooms. Meals nicely cooked and efficiently served (our Polish waitress, Barbara, was lovely!). Parking on site a bit tight but plenty of on-street parking outside. All-in-all excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The hotel is not all that easy to find. If lost head for the spire of All Saints Church in Babbacomb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We arrived for 3 days late January 2012. The room was reasonable and clean, the food was good, the hotel decor was very good. All of this let down by no hot water and no heating in the room. After two days of this, the manager was confronted, who then aggresively suggested that a refund was being sought. He was loud, incredibly aggressive, ill attired, and generally loutish. His attitude and ill bearing were such that a couple of us were unable to eat the subsequent dinner. Finally, the morning of departure, the heating returned and a good hot shower was available. This is a good hotel ruined by a pig of a manager. The other staff encountered were exemplary - so polite, so helpful. What a comparison to their boss!

Room Tip: Don't go until the present manager is sacked. If no problems arise, OK. If they do, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Were attending a dinner/dance at Anchorage Hotel on Friday evening, so decided to stay the night. Really pleased we did! Had lovely room, meal was great, all the staff were very pleasant & helpful. The breakfast superb. Wished we'd booked for the whole weekend like others in our party did!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janian4854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Booked for 3 days between christmas and new year. Was very pleased with the welcome and the service i got from the staff. Will be a place i would recommend and visit again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This was our second trip to the Anchorage, and i must say it was as good if not better than the first visit. We stayed after Christmas 2012 and normally hotels are quiet and have a lack of atmosphere, but i'm relieved to say this was the not the case at the Anchorage, the hospitality was great, very welcoming, Janice the younger of the ladies behind reception was wonderful always smiling and chatty. The food was good, sausages could have been nicer but everything else was perfect, and hot plates!
The room was ok, a little tired but very clean, I think we will book the deluxe room next time, we saw them on the screen and they look very nice.
We will be back in the spring all being well.

Room Tip: pick a deluxe they look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rieax d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing