We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #80 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Well - what can one say! First coach tour, which won't be the last, not down to the hotel but because the tour opertor and day tours were excellent. Hotel - well where do we start! Food - very poor, on the last day we noticed some mould on the 'toast' well call it toast - soggy and soft, together with the re-cycled potato from the night before. Friends that we met and sat beside us in the unbearable heat of the dining room - ordered fish and chips that looked and tasted like they have been reheated several times. The reception area is not manned at all times - and you would have to wait quite a while before someone comes along to tell you off for ringing the bell so much! Not somewhere I would recommend for someone I don't like- think that says it all!!!!! :)

Room Tip: If you have difficulty walking I would recommend a room on the ground floor. I would try other hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ruby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    100
    57
    35
    45
See reviews for
43
160
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Rooms damp, lift broke down Tuesday not fixed by Friday with no engineer seen all week. 1h30 for meals with £3.25 extra for prawns £6+ for scampi etc.

Nice reception and bar area thou shame staff have no personality. Didn't hear one how's your day been was your meal alright maybe they knew the answer already. One lady got charged £1.50 for chips with her omelette when chips with scampi anyway instead of frozen roast potatoes

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lillypaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The food was good, the rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff were very helpful. We will be returning to this hotel next year. The area it's situated in is lovely too. There are parks and tennis courts. We were lucky with the weather too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidayreviewer877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk - UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We arrived on Friday 15/6/12. When going into our room I noticed crumbs on the floor around the bed. We decided to have a shower the water dripped out very slowly. When we went down to dinner my husband and I decided to have an omelette. Other guests on our table had something else. The vegetables on offer were roast potatoes,swede and braised leeks. My husband asked if he could have chips as the other vegetables did not go with omelette. He was told yes you can have chips that will cost you £1.50. The chips arrived hard and not nice at all. We were at this hotel for 3 nights and every night it was roast potatoes. The other guests on our table all had cooked breakfast in the morning and all of them thought the roast potatoes had been used from the night before and recycled as fried potatoes on their breakfast plate. Other guests we spoke to told us the following:
Shower provided was a rubber hose type shower which had round holes that did not fit on the square taps
Dirty mirrors
Sink in bedroom rather than the bathroom
Dirty pillows
Lumpy bed
One lady turned her hair straighteners on and all the electric went off in her room.

When we checked out on Monday 18th June my husband spoke to the manager and said he was not prepared to pay the £1.50 for the chips. He was told in no uncertain terms that if he did not pay for the chips our coach would not be allowed to leave.
I will say that the waiting staff worked very hard and were courteous at all times. The manager could take a leaf out of their book.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank keen_traveller0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at the Anchorage on the recommendation of my parents, who had stayed there a few years ago. The hotel has undergone a management change since then and needs another!. Rooms were small, dated and not very clean- infact some days I don't think the room was cleaned at all.
Tea & Coffee etc had spasmodic refills and we had to ask for them to be refilled. Asked several times for extra pillows- never received them. As other reviewers have stated the meals are very small and not a good standard. There are plenty of really good pubs in the area who all serve much better meals and have more reasonable prices.
Lots of coach parties for the elderly use this hotel- I really don't know why, maybe they like the Fawlty Towers experience- the staff are rude to say the least!
We still stay in Babbacombe but have found much better hotels and B&B's- keep well away from the Anchorage!
PS- We are not the type to complain and usually put up with a lot from so called family run establishment- but this place is dire!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

when planning your big day you want the most tiny things to be perfect. after searching for the right place to have our wedding reception we found the anchorage hotel. it was perfect, around the corner from our church and home. ideal!! me and my now husband had been in touch with the staff at the anchorage and can safely say they were amazing. however after weeks of trying to reach him we finally got in touch with the manager. he was lovely and helped us out with all our needs. we went away very happy and were ready to book. the following day we had decided on this hotel, as we walked in we were told that the manager again was no where to be found. so we were then put in touch with the deputy manager. he was lovely and we booked everything through him. after paying our deposit we were told that the manager would send us out a copy of a bill. 6 weeks before the wedding we went down to find out how eveyrthing was and what we needed to do ( as we hadnt heard from him ) again friendly service from the staff but again no manager!!
4 weeks before the wedding we finally got in touch. everything was fine and sorted and we all new what was happening at what time. the manager also said he would be there from start to finish to make sure everything was how it should be.
the day before the wedding we went to the anchorage to start preparing for the following day. after being told he would be there he let us down!! said that he would leave his deputy manager in charge ( what a suprise ) however with the buzz of our wedding nothing was going to ruin it ( well thats what we thought) through out our time of booking, it had not been made clear to us that it was £25 per person. from our mistake we thought it was per room. so for our guests staying there it was a nightmare!!
the big day, after many guest having a great nights sleep and excellent service everything was going great.
we got married and arrived at the hotel to have our reception. through out first course we asked the staff if it was possible to just ask every table to poor themselves a glass of wine for the toasts. however with that they sat infront of us with the deputy manager and discussed this and then refused to do it. ( what was i paying for)
after that we then had our buffet. it was put out for all the guests to eat. however 2 hours later it was being put away without some guests even eating! when asked to keep it out, they brought us to ice cream tubs of food!! what we had payed for!!
guests then saw the deputy manager take our food on a plate into the reception desk to eat!!
The bar was very busy that night, most guests buying drinks. what we didnt think would happen is whilst serving drinks the barman was also drinking. at half 12 when me and my husband was saying our goodbyes. the barman staggered out stumbling down the path shouting his goodbyes!!
we flew away after that for our honeymoon. on our return our guests had not had such a good time at the hotel. in the middle of the night another hotel guest had walked into my familys room and defecated on the floor in the room and bathroom. my family guest ran down stairs to get some staff to clean up there room to which she was handed a HAND TOWEL and told to do it HERSELF!! it was disgusting and so upesetting to be told how much had happend from our wedding reception . me and my new husband went down there to discuss this with the manager. and of course he was there as we had to pay him then!! when we told him about what had happend we were met with a very rude and disrespctful manor from him. he refused to take of a compensation from our total cost. but had however said he would send us a apology letter. 6 weeks later and we still have not receievd anything. we was going to not write a reveiw if we had receievd a letter however many phone calls later and still nothing. i will be writing to the manager again and if no response i already have a appointment with the local news paper to disscuss this further. i would advise any one who has booked or is thinking of booking here to pull out and go else where. i wish now i had read reveiws to find out what this ' hotel ' was REALLY like.the staff are lovely, and always have been but the manager pfft! i dont know how he runs a business!!

Room Tip: choose another hotel.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CARIF210412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Comfortable hotel with good food and heated pool. Nothing is too much for the reception who will do all they can to make your stay more enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing