We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would Recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed at the Anchorage hotel on 30th December for new year, hotel was lovely and clean, staff were fantastic and food was lovely. The entertainment on new years eve was great. Would highly recommend as we are thinking about booking for this new year !

Room Tip: Had a Deluxe Room and couldn't fault it, it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEATHER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    104
    60
    37
    45
See reviews for
45
165
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Highworth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel was welcoming with reception staff offering information about the area and alternative places to eat. The room was spacious and clean with a good dressing table area and hair drier. Lots of hot water and lovely warm room. The food was lovely and reasonably priced.
Only disappointment was the pool was outside and not use in February. We always look for a pool when booking a Hotel

Room Tip: Pool is open from May to September!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVIN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

The website states 'discount for members of the Moose' so after finding on the web booking that there were vacancies and the standard rate was £49 I phoned in order to claim my'Moose' discount.

On arrival they were not sure which room to put us in but were very friendly and were being as helpful as they could and eventually put us into one of the larger rooms for the night. This was very pleasing. (We were staying on over the weekend for an organised event so this was just one extra night for us)

The evening meal was roast pork, sounds good, but I imagine the meat was cooked commercial in a vacuum packed state then sliced like a thin rasher of bacon then delivered to the hotel to warm up. The duchess potatoes had missed the microwave whist the broccoli was just over boiled stumps with a few green specks. When mentioned to the waiting staff we had a brief apology.

The meals did improve slightly over the organised weekend but all the roast meat was processed the same way.

On checking out I found that instead of a discount on the room rate I was charged £11 more than if I had made an internet booking. This combined with the poor meal on the first night ensured I had to complain.

After much investigation and consultation I was awarded a £10 discount. Some consulation but no sign of that website mentioned discount nor compensation for a grotty meal.

Could be a good hotel, very good quiet position not far from the front but a greater presence of the hotel owner might mean more happy customers!

Room Tip: If you do not like a hot bedroom attend to the radiator thermostat and open the window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanF1463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have never been to Babbacombe before but we will definitely be going again and staying in the same hotel. The Anchorage hotel was really good. We were greeted by very friendly staff who showed us to our room which was clean, bright and fresh with a lovely comfy bed - we found out later. The food was excellent , plenty of choice and the vegetarian dishes were varied and delicious!! Evening entertainment was good and there was a very happy and relaxed atmosphere throughout the hotel. We will go back later in the year when the swimming pool will be open. See you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the Anchorage hotel in Babbacombe and had a wonderful time. The hotel was lovely, good food, clean rooms and friendly staff. We even had sunshine!! What more could you want for a break in February!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be quiet and there are some on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Had a marvellous welcome from the staff on arrival but the room we were given was very small. No matter though as we weren't intending on spending a lot of time in there but if you don't like a hot bedroom then turn the heat off, open the window and close the curtains to keep things cool.
The meal we had in the evening was awful - tasteless meat, cold potato and brocolli that looked like it had been on the boil for over an hour. Chose a strawberry gateau for dessert but the strawberries were still frozen solid. The good news is that there is a very good chip shop not far down the road so that you don't go hungry.
Breakfast was OK and the meals did improve over the weekend. Complained to the manager about the first night's meal (which was uneaten after the first taste of things) and £10 was taken off the bill.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trish725Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Only stayed one night but from checking in with the extremely helpful gentleman on reception, this was a pleasure, offer of help with my bag, nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was excellent. Checking out was a breeze, the staff were very efficient and dealt with everyone quickly. An Excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing