We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #80 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip. Very friendly, helpful staff, good facilities, excellent breakfast, free wifi, good bathroom, big room - all for £35.

Would recommend for an overnight stay plus there was free parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SUE_JGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    100
    57
    35
    45
See reviews for
43
160
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Booked for a few days for last minute stay, great value. My room was very clean, spacious, comfortable and the water was piping hot in the shower and bath. Lovely breakfast included in the price with quick and friendly service. Hotel is located in a quiet park, just off the seafront, but a short walk to anything. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We went with a coach group and so the hotel was selected for us. The room was what you would expect for a two star hotel - nothing grand but comfortable. What takes it out of the two star range is the quality of the catering and the friendliness of the staff - this we could not fault in any way.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the clif top, and even less to a parade of shops.

The hotel is in a quiet road and we were at the front, overlooking some public tennis courts opposite. Generally it was very quiet at night, although unfortunately two people in the room below talked loudly until about 11.45pm on the last night, and this proved disturbing.

Despite this I would be happy to go back to this hotel, but might investigate the delux rooms on th next occasion

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed at the Anchorage hotel on 30th December for new year, hotel was lovely and clean, staff were fantastic and food was lovely. The entertainment on new years eve was great. Would highly recommend as we are thinking about booking for this new year !

Room Tip: Had a Deluxe Room and couldn't fault it, it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEATHER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel was welcoming with reception staff offering information about the area and alternative places to eat. The room was spacious and clean with a good dressing table area and hair drier. Lots of hot water and lovely warm room. The food was lovely and reasonably priced.
Only disappointment was the pool was outside and not use in February. We always look for a pool when booking a Hotel

Room Tip: Pool is open from May to September!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVIN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

The website states 'discount for members of the Moose' so after finding on the web booking that there were vacancies and the standard rate was £49 I phoned in order to claim my'Moose' discount.

On arrival they were not sure which room to put us in but were very friendly and were being as helpful as they could and eventually put us into one of the larger rooms for the night. This was very pleasing. (We were staying on over the weekend for an organised event so this was just one extra night for us)

The evening meal was roast pork, sounds good, but I imagine the meat was cooked commercial in a vacuum packed state then sliced like a thin rasher of bacon then delivered to the hotel to warm up. The duchess potatoes had missed the microwave whist the broccoli was just over boiled stumps with a few green specks. When mentioned to the waiting staff we had a brief apology.

The meals did improve slightly over the organised weekend but all the roast meat was processed the same way.

On checking out I found that instead of a discount on the room rate I was charged £11 more than if I had made an internet booking. This combined with the poor meal on the first night ensured I had to complain.

After much investigation and consultation I was awarded a £10 discount. Some consulation but no sign of that website mentioned discount nor compensation for a grotty meal.

Could be a good hotel, very good quiet position not far from the front but a greater presence of the hotel owner might mean more happy customers!

Room Tip: If you do not like a hot bedroom attend to the radiator thermostat and open the window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanF1463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have never been to Babbacombe before but we will definitely be going again and staying in the same hotel. The Anchorage hotel was really good. We were greeted by very friendly staff who showed us to our room which was clean, bright and fresh with a lovely comfy bed - we found out later. The food was excellent , plenty of choice and the vegetarian dishes were varied and delicious!! Evening entertainment was good and there was a very happy and relaxed atmosphere throughout the hotel. We will go back later in the year when the swimming pool will be open. See you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing