We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be going back!”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be going back!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here with a group of 14 others and had a great time. Rooms were clean and comfortable but if you have a problem with stairs ask for a ground floor room or one serviced by the lift. Breakfasts were excellent and rest of the food was good too. It's a very good area with plenty to do, St Marychurch being particularly good. The nice pool was an added bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JACK J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    109
    64
    38
    47
See reviews for
47
176
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BRISTOL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Our second stay, two couples, two rooms, two nights, yet again a wonderful stay. Superb rooms tastefully decorated, clean, warm and welcoming with all the necessities provided. Crisp white sheets, comfy bed, lovely bathroom with white towels ( yes they were white ) and more than enough room to swing the proverbial cat.
Evening meal was again very good, hot food with a good menu choice served in a lovely dining room.
Two nights of good entertainment provided in the comfortable lounge.
Public areas of this hotel are super clean, warm and welcoming with free wifi, we couldnt have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GINA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip. Very friendly, helpful staff, good facilities, excellent breakfast, free wifi, good bathroom, big room - all for £35.

Would recommend for an overnight stay plus there was free parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SUE_JGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Booked for a few days for last minute stay, great value. My room was very clean, spacious, comfortable and the water was piping hot in the shower and bath. Lovely breakfast included in the price with quick and friendly service. Hotel is located in a quiet park, just off the seafront, but a short walk to anything. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We went with a coach group and so the hotel was selected for us. The room was what you would expect for a two star hotel - nothing grand but comfortable. What takes it out of the two star range is the quality of the catering and the friendliness of the staff - this we could not fault in any way.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the clif top, and even less to a parade of shops.

The hotel is in a quiet road and we were at the front, overlooking some public tennis courts opposite. Generally it was very quiet at night, although unfortunately two people in the room below talked loudly until about 11.45pm on the last night, and this proved disturbing.

Despite this I would be happy to go back to this hotel, but might investigate the delux rooms on th next occasion

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed at the Anchorage hotel on 30th December for new year, hotel was lovely and clean, staff were fantastic and food was lovely. The entertainment on new years eve was great. Would highly recommend as we are thinking about booking for this new year !

Room Tip: Had a Deluxe Room and couldn't fault it, it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEATHER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel was welcoming with reception staff offering information about the area and alternative places to eat. The room was spacious and clean with a good dressing table area and hair drier. Lots of hot water and lovely warm room. The food was lovely and reasonably priced.
Only disappointment was the pool was outside and not use in February. We always look for a pool when booking a Hotel

Room Tip: Pool is open from May to September!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVIN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#45 of 87 in Torquay
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#55 of 87 in Torquay
520 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#33 of 87 in Torquay
560 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing