We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early summer break”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #63 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a four day break at The Anchorage second week in June our room was cold the bathroom was disgusting to start with it was not cleaned very well, long hairs all over the place my wife had to clean it before we could use it. Rust along the bottom of the raditor paint chipped off, loose toilet seat,the carpet in our bedroom had bits all over it. The food was ok we had a good waiter. We were not the only ones that were not happy with the rooms there were two other couples we spoke to of the same opinion

Room Tip: Don't have room 62
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank astralaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have recently returned from a four night break at 'The Anchorage.' We thought it was really good value for the money. We had a deluxe double bedroom and we couldn't fault it. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and the bathroom was spotless. The room had recently been refurbished to a good standard. The food was well presented (hot food on hot plates as it should be). They have an excellant chef who uses fresh veg and provides you with quite a wide choice on the menu for evening meal. The staff are very hard working and strive to look after you.
The free entertainment in the evening was a bonus.
We are sure that you always gain when you stay in a family owned and run Hotel like The Anchorage.
Fully recommend it.
We are suprised that it only has a 2star AA rating.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the deluxe rooms and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. To begin with it took 4 phone calls before I was finally sent a confirmation email of my booking. On arrival I was told that I wouldn't be able to have breakfast the next morning, because I needed to leave before 8.30am to get to my first appointment. After a very long and busy day, it was quite late when I booked in. I was left to find the room on my own, with no offer to help me with my luggage. The room was in a very poor state. The furniture was cheap, worn and stained. There was plaster coming off the walls in 2 places and the debris was left on the carpet. I couldn't use the kettle or cup because they were so stained. The vase of dried flower that were place by the kettle were caked in sticky dust. The skirting boards and window sill were thick with dust and the bathroom was a real eye opener! The shower was stained with yellow patches with brown hairs in the tray and the taps on the sink were caked in yellowing limescale. But the worst was still to come, the bed was so lumpy and uncomfortable that I had to fold the duvet in half and put it onto the mattress. I still only managed to get a couple of hours sleep. I was so glad that I had only booked in for one night and decided to mark it down as somewhere that I would never stay again. On checking out, I told the member of staff working on the Reception, who didn't look at all surprised and not at all bothered. I wrote to the manager of the hotel to inform them of my experience, but as expected I haven't received any response. Last week I was amazed when I was sent an email informing me of a range of 'special offers and deals'. If they paid me to stay there again I wouldn't take them up on the offer, let alone wasting my hard earnt cash on staying there again! I stay all round the country at lots of hotels and B&B's and this is the worst place I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotels service is terrible,the waiting staff can't speak English,the food was cold and a woman next to us had a catipilla in her starter,the management don't care about any of the complaints and not once sorted any of them out,for example the rooms are absolutely freezing the entertainment was like watching paint dry and the time I had to wait for a drink was too long for my liking,daryl the manger is arogant and seems to employ the wrong staff purely to save money,the big foreign waiter shouts and seems very miserable,for the price it's definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Peachflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We have just returned from 4 days at the Anchorage,it is still up to it usual very good standard,thanks to all very clean and the food was also very good,looking forward to our next visit in a couple moths time.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed here over the may bank holiday. and can say we had a great time. I wont bore you with a huge review. the beds were clean, food was nice and plentiful. entertainment was a bit ropey lol but I think its hit and miss with that. pool was warm and clean. And believe it or not the staff were all English. great for family's or singles
will book again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank simmo116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Just returned from a 5 day coach stay at the Anchorage. My single room was a good size, as was the bathroom ( shower only but excellent). Spotlessly clean with tea and coffee making facilities. The lady who cleaned the room was lovely and very conscientious. All the staff are very friendly and efficient. Nothing is too much trouble.Food is fresh with plenty of choice. Added bonus, free WiFi in rooms, I've stayed in 4 star that do not provide this. I think this hotel is worth more than it's 2 stars. Thx for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank minseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#28 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#56 of 85 in Torquay
529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £51 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing