We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #68 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed wth my mother,wife and our 8yr. oldboy and we all loved our four ni ght stay.The staff were all lovely.The food was nice and overall was excellent value for money.If you want the Ritz (or the famous Grosvenor!),pay the extra and dont moan!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastryfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel was clean, the staff very pleasant and we enjoyed our deluxe room - very spacious with a nice bathroom at an extra cost of £10 per night. The evening entertainment was excellent on two of the nights we were there.

The breakfasts were not bad at all (if you overlook the soggy toast) and I would say that for a bed and breakfast break, you could do worse than stay in this hotel.

However, it must be said that the evening meals were dire. The choice was very limited; chicken was served as the meat dish on the first two nights. On the third night the meat option was boiled gammon with cabbage and mashed swede. The three of us elected to pay £6 each extra to order steak from the A La Carte section, only to be told there were only two steaks available. One member of our party therefore opted for the fish and chips (the alternative to the boiled gammon) - served not with the usual peas, but with cabbage and mashed swede!! Bakewell tart was the main dessert option for two consecutive nights. A very negative dining experience reminiscent of Britain in the 1950s.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bagpackers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The three nights at The Anchorage were in my opinion, the worst I have ever endured in a hotel except for what seemed a very long week in Russian hotels in 1989! Who knows, the Russian hotels may have improved since then! I do not think the family who own this hotel ever eat the same food served up to guests. Dinner has to be experienced to prove how awful over-boiled leeks are. Also, even if you enjoyed the food the portion control has gone mad with the mean servings.
Room 56 is to be avoided in warm weather, it faces due South and was baking hot in September sunshine, AND, the heating was on! The peeling plastic and burn mark on the dressing table made me feel I was back in a low rate, early years holiday camp. I will not return and can only it is true that you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you do not like your room - ask to be moved. I wish I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maria925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Visited this Hotel and received a very good welcome. Staff pleasant and helpful. Rooms very good and the food excellent. Recommend this hotel to any large group Especially Navy reunions
Looking forward to our visit in May 2014

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cliff114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed for 6 nights at this hotel, from the moment we arrived the customer service was excellent,this our first time at this hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble for them, always with a smile, this hotel is worthy of 3 stars in my opinion. The location of this hotel is ideal, just a short walk from Babbacombe Downs or the pretty village of St MaryChurch and a 20 min bus ride into Torquay. The choice of food is very good, and cannot understand some of the negative comments on this site, I would truly recommend this hotel, to friends and family, and we will be returning to the Anchorage again, as it is excellent value for money, one tip upgrade to one of the Deluxe rooms, it's worth it.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jeremy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We returned home last Friday having spent a superb four days at the Anchorage Hotel in Babbacombe.
We had planned to stay here earlier in the year, but a domestic issue prevented us. Even the way in which Daryl and Richard handled our original booking when we found we could not go originally was thoughtful, considerate and understanding.
We were delighted when the Anchorage contacted us a couple of weeks ago and told us of late availability, which meant that we could take four days full board with our two retrievers - we even managed to get an upgraded room on the ground floor, even at that late stage.
Sparkingly clean, our room was very comfortable, and very smart, and the hotel all came up to expectations, with the staff exceedingly courteous and helpful.
The Dining Room was run with great efficiency but no fuss, and the meals were of a high standard with ample choice and variety.
In value for money terms you could not reasonably expect more from a hotel, we have paid a lot more for hotels with more stars than this one in this particular area, but have not received the same level of service and courtesy.
We shall be revisiting - often I hope, because the facilities on offer to us were excellent.
I cannot comment on the fitness room or excercise facilities because we didn't make use of them!

R Deane

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel and will not be returning again. Our twin bed room was so small there was no room for two people to pass at bottom of bed. No wardrobe only a cupboard with no door and a hanging rail approx. 90cm from floor - only room for skirts and trousers, nowhere to hang dresses!!. Towels never changed and bathroom not clean. Food average. Could be so much better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 86 in Torquay
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#35 of 86 in Torquay
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 86 in Torquay
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 86 in Torquay
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £50 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing