We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #63 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I get to see a lot of hotels in my work and this is as good as any in its range,as you can tell by looking at the varied revues some people expect a lot more than they are paying for,hotels have strict budgets and coach firms are cutting them to the bone on prices.The staff I met were extremely pleasant and helpful and the guests I spoke with were more than happy.In a shrinking holiday market it is increasingly difficult for hotels to keep going all year and provide for their staff and they need all the encouragement they can get so harsh neg.comments do not help.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked a weekend here - they accepted our deposit and then emailed to inform us that the price was twice what we expected. When I referred them to my confirmation email, they just said that the price was wrong. Needless to say our weekend is cancelled and we are going somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 62wendy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Myself my partner and my disabled dad stayed here for 2 nights in June, we read reviews and some people will always expect 5 star at 2 star prices, we were very pleasantly surprised how lovely this hotel and staff really was. We hAd 2 disabled rooms no extra cost for single occupancy with 1 room , they supply a beautiful evening meal and breakfast at a very competitive nightly rate, thank you to Simon and all the staff for a lovely weekend. I would highly recommend you to family and friends

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bev1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My friend and I have just come back from a stay here with the Harry Shaw coach firm whose driver Andy was a star!

Very helpful staff, Richard was brilliant! Our waiter was also lovely I did not get his name. Hotel clean overall. All linen spotless. Tea and coffee in the room, hair dryer and TV. The meals were good, well cooked and hot!

We are already planning on going back next year!

Room Tip: I had a single room which although small was en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolineanddenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned on a 4 day 3 night trip with our Aunt and Uncle with the Harry Shaw Coach Company with driver Andy who was an absolute star
have been reading the reviews prior to going and kept an open mind. Our room was on the smallish side but it was clean bed linen and towels spotless, bathroom did not have a proper shower but one that fitted on the taps but that was not a problem,Tea Coffee etc replenished daily
food very good allways hot served by the efficient staff ,on a previous review read that they tried to rush you we did not find this at all.had entertainment on every night 2 night singers with guitars and last night lady with keyboard many thanks to the efficient staff of the anchorage plus all the fun people on the coach we are looking to return next year

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrabulldog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

arrived sunday for a three night break d/b/b.
hotel looks good from the outside but a bit sparse inside. The reception manager was friendly and a bit rushed with us. Our room 26 was ideal and well worth the money although the bed was softer than i would normally use. I was concerned about the peeling ceiling paper and the water marks around the light fitment. the toilet paper was soft but you need lots of it to feel safe. The towels were clean and white and a good nights sleep was had by all.
The breakfast was addiquate with a wide choice. although i could not say that about dinner. The girls were rushed and there was not the light hearted banter you sometimes get.
The quality of the lighting in the resturant was spoiled by chandeleirs giving the impression of dark water marks down the walls.
The entertainment was good except the singer was too loud, the magician was fantastic and the singing duo was also good. one small point beware of flies everywhere in the windows
Overall I would come back to this hotel not expecting much but enjoying what i do get

Room Tip: go for the newest refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tourman080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just back from Monday to Friday group holiday, The staff were very friendly, food was good enough tho not plentiful,rooms were clean, with room service every day.Disappointed with the entertainment on tues and thurs and the pool not very clean i'm afraid. As we roam around the British Isles on our holidays we may never get back to the Anchorage, but i would still recommend it to anyone. Thank you very much staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#28 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#56 of 85 in Torquay
529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £51 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing