We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #62 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a small group of friends overall we had a nice stay no problems , staff were all lovely location is a cheap taxi ride away from torquay town centre , rooms were fine a bit small but ok for sleeping .pool was good aswell , didn't stay for the entertainment , breakfast did the job filled us up was nothing special thou .Thankyou to the staff for contacting me to tell me they had found my backers after I left and sending it to me via post , for a cheap break away it was perfect would return if ever in torquay

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Average hotel with friendly staff who work very hard . The place needs some investment as it is quite dated . As others have commented the food portions were very misery and not of high quality . Overall though we had a nice stay here .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Came here with friends and family on a special shearings self drive.just after Christmas. Lovely staff, clean rooms. Food was small and the toast mouldy, yek. St I'll had a fan time and would go back again.

Room Tip: Not worth upgrading all rooms pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenhPlymouthuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I paid £39 for a single room with breakfast. This is a good deal but the normal rate is higher. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a pool but I didn't use it so cannot comment on what it's like.
I had room 6 which is actually a twin. The window looks inwards to a flat roof and a fire escape. The room was very hot.
The en suite bathroom is actually a small room built in the existing one with a sliding door. The enamel bath is chipped and the extractor fan is extremely noisy. The whole room is a bit tired looking although recently decorated. The furniture does not match. The room was clean with a kettle and ample tea and coffee.
Breakfast was one of everything. Choice of egg. Cheap sausage. I rasher. Half a tomato. Beans. Fried potato. 2 toast. (Alright not one of everything then). All fine except the soggy slices of potato which I left. Starts with choice of juice or cereal. Why not both? It's the one thing which seems to upset most people in the reviews! The breakfast was served almost instantly.
Overall I was satisfied with my stay which I think was reasonable value. I have scored it a 3 overall because I don't believe in saying things are very good or excellent when they are in fact average and satisfactory. At the price I paid I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mcxxjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I get to see a lot of hotels in my work and this is as good as any in its range,as you can tell by looking at the varied revues some people expect a lot more than they are paying for,hotels have strict budgets and coach firms are cutting them to the bone on prices.The staff I met were extremely pleasant and helpful and the guests I spoke with were more than happy.In a shrinking holiday market it is increasingly difficult for hotels to keep going all year and provide for their staff and they need all the encouragement they can get so harsh neg.comments do not help.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked a weekend here - they accepted our deposit and then emailed to inform us that the price was twice what we expected. When I referred them to my confirmation email, they just said that the price was wrong. Needless to say our weekend is cancelled and we are going somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 62wendy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Myself my partner and my disabled dad stayed here for 2 nights in June, we read reviews and some people will always expect 5 star at 2 star prices, we were very pleasantly surprised how lovely this hotel and staff really was. We hAd 2 disabled rooms no extra cost for single occupancy with 1 room , they supply a beautiful evening meal and breakfast at a very competitive nightly rate, thank you to Simon and all the staff for a lovely weekend. I would highly recommend you to family and friends

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bev1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
367 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#37 of 85 in Torquay
198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#56 of 85 in Torquay
528 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £47 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing