We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anchorage Hotel Torquay I must agree with Faulty Towers!”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #68 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We have just had the misfortune of staying at this hotel and i definately would not recommend.The room was dirty and unfinshed with what looks like some recent decoration?my friend has walking diffulties and when we asked if she could have a room closer to the lift we were told by a rude man which we later discovered was the manager that this was not possible.The food was also luke warm and we were told that if we wanted other choices we would have to pay highly for this.
I can only assume the good reviews on here are people who have not been to the hotel in a long time as that is definately not how we found the management and hotel!!!Avoid with bells on!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2010

we have stayed at the anchorage hotel many time in the last few years,and would stay there again, we booked to stay there over the new year which we have stay there before, the meals over the new year are very frist class, our room was clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, if there's anything we need we just ask the staff. the hotel warm and cosy, swimming pool in the summer very nice,

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank october1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

In my opinion: Food - Great if you are on a diet as more items off the menu than on it. Long periods between courses, limited rashions, only allowed one choice of breakfast. Portions were small.
Room - No wardrobe or drawers, Stale damp room with clear signs of mould on wallpaper.
Service - In my opinion it was appalling with agressive rude members of senior staff who try to intimidate their clients. Was told to 'Shut up' at one stage.
Entertainment - to a poor standard.
I am 70 + years old and travel regular, I have stayed at various levels of accommodation accross the world however in my experience this has to be the worst place I have ever stayed at!!! I never felt the need to warn others before.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KazzieB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Booked this hotel using online booking facility,three rooms,two doubles and one twin,when we arrived there were no rooms booked,receptionist said they didnt have online booking on there website,anyway after staring at her hand written registration book she did find us the rooms,hoorah,in all honesty the rooms were not to bad my room(no14) the en-suite was newly refurbished good shower and new flooring,mums room had ripped lino in bathroom and wallpaper peeling off,breakfast was terrible served on a side plate and poor quality food,were not offered juice and cereal,only one or the other,when we got home we checked their website again and sure enough there is a online booking facility,(the one i had used)my wife rang to suggest they sort out website so it ties into their office procedures,then one hour later had a phone call from the owner telling me i had obviously done something wrong pressed the wrong button or something,i am not stupid and booked many holidays and hotels online before with no problems,it was just his arrogance and attitude,very rude would not recommend this hotel to anybody,very Basil Fawlty attributes !!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simonandlauraBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

this is not the most inviting of hotels, the staff not being overly enthusiastic and a complaint i made about a banging door went unheeded so i fixed it myself. However the room was warm and clean, the food on the first night excellent but then gradually got worse. But it is registered as a two star so i supose this is what you get.
The entertainment was faultless and well worth the faults of the hotel, especially for the price. So i would say just give it a go and hope that eventually the owners will realise that it could be such a nice place with a little effort.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snazzyshazSheringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamhosking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 86 in Torquay
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 86 in Torquay
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 86 in Torquay
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 86 in Torquay
368 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £49 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing