We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Old Vienna Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 346 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurant with an Austrian Touch - Austrian Chef/Proprietor-Werner Rott and his team are here to look after customers with a smile and mostly locally sourced ingredient in casual surroundings - a small intimate Restaurant with just 22 Covers where the guest is treated like a friend 2015 Taste of the West South Devon Fine Dining Silver Award 2016 Taste of the West South West England Gold Award
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We went to this restaurant again for a family birthday and we had a lovely time, lovely food as always. We will be going again for new year and I know we will have a lovely meal and a great time. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finelady44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    71
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We will return”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We are visiting family in the area and we use Trip Adviser to treat our hosts to dinner whenever we visit.

We weren't disappointed. It's a small restaurant - approx 20 seats, the only down side is that we were joined by a slightly rowdy party and towards the end if the evening it got slightly difficult to hear our party speak - this is not something that the restaurant owners/staff can be held responsible for.

The food was hot and delicious and cooked to perfection, and there is a real sense that Werner Rott has a passion for perfection for each plate that leaves his kitchen. We had to ask for more veg as one dish between 4 left us with small portions. But we were invited to ask for more if needed and I think this is exactly the right way to do it - to save wastage.

The Wiener Schnitzel is highly recommended and the yodelling from the kitchen to signal food is ready to be served is a unique and amusing touch.

The appearance by Mr Rott at the end of the evening with complimentary schnapps (best to drink it straight down) to talk to his guests added to the overall ambiance of the evening.

A real chef, real food, served with real passion. And at approximately £40 per head for 3 courses and a few drinks, you'd expect to pay a lot, lot more in other chain free restaurants.

Worth a visit, for sure.

We will return for our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Went here for the first time last week, so glad we did!!! The food is outstanding, great menu. Could not fault any of the evening. It is a small intimate place, very friendly waitresses, they cannot do enough for you. The chef comes out and speask to you and presents you with a shot of Schnapps. We will definitely be going back in the New Year to sample the fantastic food. First class!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This place is a must!! Been here many times and have never been disappointed. Warner is a brilliant chef as he is host. Keep up the good work

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank totalfoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Dining Experience”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I took my wife to the Old Vienna to celebrate her recent birthday after the restaurant was recommended to us by friends. We were made very welcome by the staff and were very impressed by the menu - all the courses available sounded really appealing and we found it difficult to make a choice. We had three courses each - all different - with a bottle of wine. The quality of the food was amazing, the wine was fabulous and we both really enjoyed the whole evening.We were very impressed - we plan to visit Torquay regularly over the next few years and a return visit to the Old Vienna will be top of our list of priorities!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Vienna Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Old Vienna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing