We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good B&B convenient for Torquay Station”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colindale Guest House
Ranked #74 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good B&B convenient for Torquay Station”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is a perfectly acceptable B&B, with good attention to detail and excellent breakfasts.

Practicalities – three car parking spaces at the front, and further on street parking in the road the hotel is in. Three or four minutes level walk from Torquay Station, with the sea front a minute or so further on. Then you can walk along the sea front into central Torquay which takes another 10 minutes or so.

The B&B is in a terrace of substantial properties with a couple of other B&B’s in it. Quiet location with a sports field opposite. My room was quite small, but it was a single room so no complaints. Ensuite shower and toilet and there’s a communal bathroom as well. Fresh towels each day. Good attention to the little things in the room – extension leads where needed, jar of nice sweets, good supply of tea and coffee etc. Bed very soft. Breakfast was excellent. I had the corned beef/bacon mix on the second day and it was first class; one of the best breakfasts I’ve had. Regretted not having the kippers before I left.

Only issue I had was over payment. I had booked through booking.com. When I went down to pay on the last day I was told that they had used the credit card I used to reserve the booking to take payment; which they had done just after I arrived. Not encountered this before, and I’d been planning to pay in cash. Not a major problem for me but one to be aware of (they don’t tell you on arrival that’s the plan).

Tip – I bought a Devon Day Ranger ticket at the station which costs £10. That took me up to Barnstaple, then down to Exeter and Exmouth before returning. Absolute bargain.

Would I return ? Possibly – but there are plenty of B&B’s in Torquay and if you don’t need to be by the station try shopping around.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g4shf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    5
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
40
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2012

From the moment I arrived I was treated like royalty. The room and facilities were second to none. the attention from Barry and Sven, just delightful. It's home from home and the atmosphere so welcoming, I will recommend to all my friends and family and I have the utmost confidence that anyone who visits the Colindale will go back again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nynäshamn
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I am sorry I didn´t know about this hotel/guest-house in beforehand. If I ever return to Torquey i will certainly stay here and have dinner at the hotel.

Room Tip: I guess there are no "bads" about this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterO01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have just returned from a short break at Colindale and it did not disappoint in any way. The facilities are excellent, a cosy room with all comforts. Barry and Sven's attention to detail is so very good and we were made to feel welcome form the moment we arrived. We have no hesitation in recommending 'Colindale'. The food was particularly good and to a high standard. We will with out doubt be returning the next time we come to Torbay.

THANKS Barry and SVEN keep up the good work !!!!!

Ray & Doreen

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fermain73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at the Colindale Guest House on Saturday 10th March. We both found the place to be delightful in every way, clean, tidy and beautifully presented. Lovely room, comfy bed, good shower etc.
Barry and Sven were great, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was probably the best breakfast we have had for a very long time. We would highly recomend this Guest House any time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top room which was superb but maybe a little small. Barry said to try and book ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dripwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

When we first arrived at Colindale, after a long coach journey from London, we were warmly greeted by Barry and Sven with tea and a mince pie - this was a lovely start to a fantastic stay. The room was very comfortable and it was very hard to get out of bed in the morning! But, the breakfast was well worth getting up for - plenty of fruit, cereal, juices and the cooked breakfast was out of this world. We stayed in the Colindale over Christmas and had a stunning Christmas meal with Barry and Sven and some of the other guests - it made us feel right at home and the meal itself was outstanding. We definately recommend staying at the Colindale as we will definately be going back in May. What fantastic people Barry and Sven (and Thai (cat) and Cara (little dog) are! If anyone is heading to Torquay, this is the guest house to stay at.

Room Tip: Room 6 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Delightful hotel, tastefully decorated with charm and homeliness. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable and clean room with shower ensuite. Well stocked bar. Short walk from Torquay Station and beach. A little further to town and the harbour.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velsatis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#48 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelston Manor Hotel
Chelston Manor Hotel
#64 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colindale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colindale Guest House

Property: Colindale Guest House
Address: 20 Rathmore Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Colindale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small charming very individual Victorian guest house in a quiet location very near to the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colindale Hotel Torquay
Colindale Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing