We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colindale Guest House”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colindale Guest House
Ranked #72 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 16 September 2012

stayed again for the 5 time and once again we were made very comfortable by Barry & Sven,the food is excellent the rooms very clean and tidy & the beds are very comfy cannot understand what Mike f309 is complaining about it could not have been the same Colindale that we stayed in cos barry and Sven could not have been more accomodating

Room Tip: if you want a good hotel to stay in book direct with Barry Greenwood the owner do not use Laterooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookie1006576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

stayed here about a month ago,the place is gorgeous and the breakfast is fab,the place is very welcoming and very near to the sea front,its quite quirky and has a gorgeous breakfast room,there was even a teddy on the bed it was like a home from home !!!oh and the beds were really comfy...would go again,thank u

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bristolgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Booked over 2 weeks in advance with laterooms, who send email and fax. Turned up on the day to be told by the owner he had double booked dispite the 'vacancies' sign. Obviously didn't want to honour the one night we had booked. Absolutely no help.

Stayed: August 2012
3  Thank Mikef309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in september 2010. Barry & Sven make you feel very welcome. Lovely rooms and good food. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is a perfectly acceptable B&B, with good attention to detail and excellent breakfasts.

Practicalities – three car parking spaces at the front, and further on street parking in the road the hotel is in. Three or four minutes level walk from Torquay Station, with the sea front a minute or so further on. Then you can walk along the sea front into central Torquay which takes another 10 minutes or so.

The B&B is in a terrace of substantial properties with a couple of other B&B’s in it. Quiet location with a sports field opposite. My room was quite small, but it was a single room so no complaints. Ensuite shower and toilet and there’s a communal bathroom as well. Fresh towels each day. Good attention to the little things in the room – extension leads where needed, jar of nice sweets, good supply of tea and coffee etc. Bed very soft. Breakfast was excellent. I had the corned beef/bacon mix on the second day and it was first class; one of the best breakfasts I’ve had. Regretted not having the kippers before I left.

Only issue I had was over payment. I had booked through booking.com. When I went down to pay on the last day I was told that they had used the credit card I used to reserve the booking to take payment; which they had done just after I arrived. Not encountered this before, and I’d been planning to pay in cash. Not a major problem for me but one to be aware of (they don’t tell you on arrival that’s the plan).

Tip – I bought a Devon Day Ranger ticket at the station which costs £10. That took me up to Barnstaple, then down to Exeter and Exmouth before returning. Absolute bargain.

Would I return ? Possibly – but there are plenty of B&B’s in Torquay and if you don’t need to be by the station try shopping around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g4shf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

From the moment I arrived I was treated like royalty. The room and facilities were second to none. the attention from Barry and Sven, just delightful. It's home from home and the atmosphere so welcoming, I will recommend to all my friends and family and I have the utmost confidence that anyone who visits the Colindale will go back again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I am sorry I didn´t know about this hotel/guest-house in beforehand. If I ever return to Torquey i will certainly stay here and have dinner at the hotel.

Room Tip: I guess there are no "bads" about this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterO01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,113 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
664 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colindale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colindale Guest House

Address: 20 Rathmore Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colindale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small charming very individual Victorian guest house in a quiet location very near to the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colindale Hotel Torquay
Colindale Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing