We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class all the way”
Review of The Orestone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orestone Manor
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First class all the way”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

What can I say a home from home where you are made welcome by all the staff.We stayed in room 6 which was spacious and very comfortable,with a lovely view.The menu was amazing and all the food was first rate.We stayed two nights and wished it was longer but we will definitely go back.
Thank to Nigel,Craig and all the staff and Paul the waiter was lovely and very attentive.

Barbara and Steve Westward Ho!

Room Tip: Room 6 was excellent and spacious but having seen the hotel I would think all the rooms are of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    69
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
346
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Another relaxing stay in this wonderful hotel, it's no wonder it's the best kept secret in Devon. Food was creative and fabulous, some of the best in the region, (I had a superb steak followed by a traditional creamy devon rice pudding), luxurious bedrooms, couldn't get up this morning as was so comfy in my bed, the whole friendly family atmosphere added to its luxury, makes for a fabulous stay. It's a hotel that you melt into and wont want to leave it. Although the walk down to its pretty cove and beach is worth the exercise. Does help that the sun is shining but then it always does down here on the English Riviera. Try it out i say!!

Room Tip: View from a sea facing room is an awesome sight when you wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidADouglass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked a one night package including superior room, three course dinner and breakfast and were not dissappointed in any way at all.

Throughout our stay the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, right from the outset we were made to feel very welcome at the amazing Orestone Manor and led to the superb room we had specifically requested after reading about it via their website. The garden and sea views from the room were a lovely escape from the working week. The bed was extremely comfortable and the roll top bath was perfect for relaxing in after the journey down to Devon followed by an exploratory walk to the beach at the bottom of the lane.

Relaxing with pre dinner drinks in front of the open fire was a real treat...especially the cocktails. Dinner itself was an absolute delight and thoroughly recommend the smoked salmon and rack of lamb.

The excellent service and quality of food continued the next morning as we enjoyed breakfast in the lovely conservatory area.

Overall a thouroughly enjoyable stay with not a single complaint and look forward to returning to try another of their rooms and more of the delicious food on offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The good points, situated off the main Torquay to Teignmouth road down a quiet country lane set in what could be described as a garden setting with distant views of the sea through the mature trees The garden to the front of the hotel is a delight to stroll around particularly in the spring and summer , a swimming pool is set to one edge of the garden ,( don't get too excited it is somewhat small ) but probably good fun for a quick dip. to the front of the hotel a terrace overlooks the garden including the sea peeps. once again this area is delightful when the weather is good and I can highly recommend this as a venue at any time of the year for morning coffee followed by or having a light lunch. leading from the terrace one enters a casual dining area ideal if the weather drives you indoors then into a lounge bar area. Decoration and maintenance are good, the separate dining room is attractive, menu choice and quality of meals is good. Toilets clean and well serviced. bedrooms are comfortable and nicely furnished. because of the view front facing rooms are well worth considering. ample car parking is to one side of the hotel with a limited disabled bay. The nearest beach is a down hill walk all the way about say fifteen minutes but don't forget the return journey is ALL uphill best idea is to drive down to car park and walk the last short distance. This hotel makes an attractive venue for weddings , birthdays, anniversary celebrations, family get together etc. as I can personally vouch for and one that is well worth considering. Can I recommend it undoubtedly, will I be returning most certainly. but what's this Ooops and the biscuits nonsense , Two guests arrive for morning coffee for two and are served three biscuits yes that's right three biscuits if you query this to be told you can have another portion of yes you've got it another three biscuits, so you either take one and waste two OR eat the extra three meaning you don't stop for lunch as you have had eat to six biscuits. Come on management , penny pinching like this sends the wrong signal particularly as I have a good idea where the biscuits come from and therefore what they cost per each, also they are not the homemade one's you used to do. So get this sorted and strive for the excellent rating from this reviewer.

Room Tip: front facing but ask to view before settling in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank george e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orestone, Owner at The Orestone Manor, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your Review.
We charge £1.50 for biscuits which are usually a choc chip type cookie and serve 3 if we serve 2 may seem tight 4 each as you say may seem to many. Any business using staff must have guidelines as to what is served if only so that people know what to expect each time they come. But also to allow us to continue in business. If you have a suggestion which suits all I would welcome a call or e mail as I am always looking for ways to improve our service no matter how good reviews may be. I acknowledge there will always be room for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a very entertaining evening yet again at orestone manor.basil manwell sybil and polly entertaining us at dinner, great fun was had by us all.
We had a lovely room, a very comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast. This was our second visit ,and hope to come back again soon. The bed and bedding was very comfy in room 8.
The staff are allways helpfull and friendly, very nice chap serving behind the bar,
Thankyou all for a lovely stay

Room Tip: Both rooms i have stayed in were stylish comfortable and indivual
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed in the Horsley Room which had great views down to the sea. Beach is within walking distance although you need a degree of stamina when returning as it is uphil all the way. Restaurant had excellent food both at Breakfast and in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view otherwise you could end up over the front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orestone, Owner at The Orestone Manor, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you had such a good experience here at the Orestone Manor. Just to put readers in the picture the window above the front entrance is not a bedroom. We have two rooms further along the front elevations which both have coastal sea views, very pretty views although further in distance to the water.
We Hope you return and will be assured a warm welcome
From Neil and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stopped at the Orestone for three nights between Christmas and including New Year's eve. We found everything to be simply excellent. The room was superb, with a lovely view down to the sea. We ate in the restaurant each night and were delighted with the food and service. When my wife was not feeling on top form the one evening, the staff went out their way to give her any choice off menu. Just the job when you're not feeling 100%. And the New Year's party was very well executed. We will definitely stop again some point in the future. The only confusion happened on checking out, when someone else's bar bill appeared on our bill. It was sorted and I wouldn't mark the hotel down for this as everything else was superb, but, as a piece of advice, the owners may wish to re-assess how they control bar tabs for guests stopping at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen-Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
3.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,325 reviews
19.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
24.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
21.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orestone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orestone Manor

Property: The Orestone Manor
Address: Rock House Lane | Maidencombe, Torquay TQ1 4SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orestone Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the coastal road from Torquay to Shaldon this Georgian retreat is set in landscaped gardens near Torquay and offers some of the finest accommodation and dining in South Devon. Stylishly refurbished as a Boutique Hotel, the Orestone provides comfortable, luxurious rooms, The New Brunel Lounge Bar, Lounge areas, Conservatory casual Dinning and an excellent main restaurant. Located in the rural village of Maidencombe on the fringe of Torquay, it has stunning views across the Torbay coastline and Lyme Bay. From from light bites, Afternoon Cream Teas, Lumches including locally caught fish and hand cut chips the choice is most satisfying. Alfresco dining can be enjoyed on the sun terrace with cracking menus and wonderful views. An award winning restaurant provides a little more sophistication for lunch or dinner if preferred! The terrace and conservatory are perfect places for an impromptu break from daily life, no need to dress up - casuals and walking boots welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Orestone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orestone Hotel Torquay
The Orestone Manor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing