We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orestone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Orestone Manor
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire,England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Restful Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

On arrival we were shown our room which was number seven in the eaves. Room good with bath and shower. View was the gardens and the sea through the trees. We stayed two nights and had dinners and breakfast. Food for dinner was very good and enough. Breakfast was also good. While we were there it was lovely and quiet. We were out during the day and for South Devon this hotels location is great. Would I go back to this hotel, yes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    57
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
301
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Only stayed one night and certainly wish it could have been longer. Our room was very comfortable with a large bathroom and balcony. The food is excellent, as is the service and the staff are friendly and efficient.

We had a very enjoyable stay and certainly hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, which has a great bathroom and views from the balcony, through the trees to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HEB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is great. It is in a lovely spot just a10 min walk downhill to the beach (20 min back!). You can join the coast path easily for beautiful walks. The staff are friendly, the food is excellent and rooms nicely decorated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent hotel, spotlessy clean everywhere, no tatty carpets etc. Ideal clifftop location with sea views. Lovely staff-all were very friendly, polite and efficient. Super breakfast and fast service.
A la carte dinner very good although menu very limited if staying longer than a few nights.
Two nights for 2 people with full English breakfast with £25 each dinner allowance represents
great value-offer booked through Secret Escapes for £218.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying a little more for a superior room but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flower377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated down a tiny, typical Devon lane. Car parking is good and the welcome is sincere. Room sizes vary and some may just have a bath with hand held shower and no screening so that you have to be careful not to cause a flood! You may also have a shared balcony, ours had a sea view through the trees but not all rooms have one. Facilities in the room we had were good and the bed was very comfortable. There are plenty of places to sit in the public rooms, including a terrace overlooking the sea. The menu was varied and the food well cooked. One thing we found was that, although a lot of hotels we have stayed in, tend to charge phenomenal prices for drinks and sandwiches, the extras at this establishment were very reasonable, despite the fact that it is fairly remote and you can't just pop into a nearby pub or eatery. We didn't explore the two acre garden, due to the weather but it looked very interesting and we will do so on our next visit! Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nannup11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife, baby son and I enjoyed a fantastic and relaxing Easter break at Orestone.

The hotel is in a very secluded spot, but within easy reach of Torquay/Paignton. The hotel gardens and terrace were extremely attractive in the unseasonably warm sunshine when we visited.

The hotel staff are very welcoming and were helpful in arranging the provision of a baby monitor when my wife and I ate in the restaurant in the evenings.

There is a wonderful fire in the bar area that was lit on one night, perhaps without need. Very nice to sit beside whilst enjoying a pre-prandial drink.

The food in the restaurant made my trip. We ate in the restaurant each night. Whilst a little pricy, it was worth it. Only one of our courses over the weekend was below par, a rather clawing goats cheese ravioli, which was served without pasta.

Our room was well appointed with character. I grumbled that there wasn't a shower, but the stand alone bath was a refreshing alternative to the standard hotel fare, particularly as were in no rush to be up and out on our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wotsit179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orestone, Owner at The Orestone Manor, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review
I am pleased you had such a great time and thank you for your appreciation of our Hotel, Service and Food .The staff work very hard to make it happen for our guests.
I would just explain for the benefit of others as well, that the "Beetroot ravioli with Goats cheese and Elderflower syrup, pinenuts" is a Starter dish in the style of ravioli, it is quite common these days to describe a dish using a phrase or terminology which paints a picture to describe the dish. We normally explain the dishes to customers and i am sorry if this was not made clear to you. However it is a dish we have had on almost continually for the last 2 years due to its popularity, so it is a very nice dish and very pretty on the plate, but I can understand that if you were expecting something different it may not be for you.
You say we are a bit pricey but worth it, I will take that to be good value which is what we offer. We don't buy cheap food we buy the best and sell it for a fair price. Fillet steak and all the trimmings £22.50 is quite normal even in a good pub I believe, Soup and bread £5.50 and a mid week menu £17.95 for two courses.
Thank you again for your feedback
Neil and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent Hotel and from our Suite we had a stunning sea and country view of Maidencoombe,The Hotel provides excellent hospitality, service and food. On arrival we had Champagne and Devon cream Tea, did a walk down to the local beach to make room for Dinner which has a wide range of choice for all tastes. The wines were lovely and the Restaurant is very popular with locals seeking good quality food. Well worth a celebratory stay in this quintessentially English Riviera beauty hidden gem.

Room Tip: Go for sea/country view -one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C0lin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
3.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
19.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
24.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orestone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orestone Manor

Property: The Orestone Manor
Address: Rock House Lane | Maidencombe, Torquay TQ1 4SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orestone Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the coastal road from Torquay to Shaldon this Georgian retreat is set in landscaped gardens near Torquay and offers some of the finest accommodation and dining in South Devon. Stylishly refurbished as a Boutique Hotel, the Orestone provides comfortable, luxurious rooms, The New Brunel Lounge Bar, Lounge areas, Conservatory casual Dinning and an excellent main restaurant. Located in the rural village of Maidencombe on the fringe of Torquay, it has stunning views across the Torbay coastline and Lyme Bay. From from light bites, Afternoon Cream Teas, Lumches including locally caught fish and hand cut chips the choice is most satisfying. Alfresco dining can be enjoyed on the sun terrace with cracking menus and wonderful views. An award winning restaurant provides a little more sophistication for lunch or dinner if preferred! The terrace and conservatory are perfect places for an impromptu break from daily life, no need to dress up - casuals and walking boots welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Orestone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orestone Hotel Torquay
The Orestone Manor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing