We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
583
98
20
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
98
20
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub garden suite roll top bath four poster bed huge bathroom coastal path sea view cream tea boutique hotel no lift first floor agatha christie stayed for nights breakfast and dinner this lovely hotel superior room beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We stayed at this hotel for three days between Christmas and New Year. We stayed in a superior room (10) as part of a offpeakluxury gourmet break. The hotel is very old and the character of the original house has been maintained. The service throughout was acceptable although at times they seemed to acting with a skeleton staff (understandable for the time of year). The room was on the second floor with a steep staircase leading to the room. The room was quite small and the eves took up a good proportion of the room. You were constantly aware of hitting your head. The bathroom was modern and well equipped although it could have had handles on the bath to help getting in and out.
The breakfast was fine although the fruit was a little limited and although good for two days on our last day the poached eggs were hard which was a shame.
Dinner was superb. The food was fine dining and could not have been better. Definitely the highlight of the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Second floor
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

My husband booked it as my birthday surprise and I absolutely loved it. We stayed in the coach house. It has a private parking and beautiful suite with a private hot tub in the balcony. Room was beautiful decorated, nice spacious bathroom, a separate bath tub in living room and everything was just perfect. Hotel staff was very friendly and food n their afternoon tea was amazing.
This place has a beautiful beach just down the hill n amazing sea views. There are a lot of scenic tracks around which you can explore. This place is perfect for a romantic quiet gateway.
Didn’t see any kids here so I believe this place is meant for adults only.
I would highly recommend it n won’t rate it any less than 5 stars in all aspects.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Meo129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Stayed in one of the superior rooms with roof top patio area overlooking surrounding area & sea. The food & service was to an excellent standard. Would recommend this hotel for a nice relaxing break by the sea

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandypageblazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Great Food, attentive staff and lovely comfortable room. I would highly recommend this hotel just 5 - 10 minutes outside Torquay. The room was clean and tidy and the food served was of a high standard and could not be faulted.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chombo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Stayed for 4 nights, inclusive of a breakfast and dinner every night package. Excellent value for money. Quality of food was phenomenal. Cant rate the chef and his team enough. The service team were knowledgeable to the history of the hotel and the surroundings, they were knowledgeable to the menu, adaptable to requests, friendly, discreet and professional. The rooms were newly decorated, fresh, private and well equipped. The whole stay was thoroughly peaceful and an excellent escape to celebrate a combined birthday and anniversary. Maybe one day, a heated pool would complete the almost perfect experience.

Room Tip: Jakuzi room in the coach house. Very nice sea and scenic views from the top, quiet, comfortable, modern and warm. Upstairs may need slightly better heating, but other than this - fantastic.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 3mad38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews