We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Modern bathroom
Large fully equipped kitchen
Quiet reading nook
Family dining room
Comfortable home from home
Leather sofas and period furnishings
Original period shutters and stripped wood floors
Grade two listed period house
Lovely open aspect over Torquay
Looking out from nearby beacon cove
Meadfoot beach minutes walk from Rowell House
Evening Drinks in the pretty garden
Blue flag award Meadfoot beach
Antique beds with hotel quality bedding
Antique and period furniture
Alfresco eating in the courtyard garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

perfect location only a short walk into town, the property itself is very large with everything you will need supplied. Dawn and Stephen helped us with an issue we had on arrival within 5 minutes - we will hopefully return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday. We welcome you back again soon. kind regards, Dawn & Stephen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaMoor...
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room for great nan as well!”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Last year we booked Rowell house for a family holiday for one week. This year we booked for two weeks as we love it so much! We had a week with our daughter her partner and our grandson and brought my mum as well. We had friends round to visit with there daughter and partner and gad daughter that live locally and there was still plenty of room for everyone. So many happy memories made here. The last week we had a more relaxing week for just the two of us to celebrate our 50th birthdays and 10th anniversary.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your fantastic review we really appreciate it and it helps other travellers with there booking decisions. We are so glad that all ages were able to enjoy the house and you created some happy memories!
Kind Regards Dawn & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
817kerryw
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house , great stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Rowell house is a lovely house with lots of antiques to explore . Location is great very quiet and only 5 minutes walk from the harbour and shops . The house also has lots of beach items for the kids to use ( body boards , fishing stuff , buckets ) and lots more .We as a family loved the kitchen very modern with an antique twist . Dawn also provides milk , tea and coffee and a lovely bottle of wine that we drank on the balcony in the evening watching the sun go down .The Wright family loved our stay and can't wait to go back .thank you so much dawn for letting us stay at your beautiful house x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it! We look forward to welcoming you again. Regards Dawn & steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValandGar...
Clermont, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly large Period home in great location”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

When my husband , me , our son and mother-in -law walked into this house our first thought was...OH MY GOD this place is huge and it had a wonderful old , haunted feel to it to me. Sorry to any ghost hunters, I had no ghostly experiences!! The kitchen was enormous with every amenity you could want and more, the TV room was very cozy for such a large house. They had 2 refrigerators but a very small freezer, which did not cause us a problem but if you like to load up on frozen goods you'll possibly run into a problem.. For me the upstairs bedrooms were very interesting!! There are 3 bedrooms 2 of which have a sink and towel rack and all the doors have a number on them so I'm guessing it was at some point used as a boarding house or the owners had a very clever decorating sense of humor. I liked it. I also liked having a toilet upstairs, very convenient as the main bathroom(which is lovely) is downstairs.Beds were all extremely comfortable with fresh linen and when we walked in the house smelled great. The owner was into candles everywhere, so am I so I had a great time lighting candles every night. Having a parking permit for the car was also very helpful. I'd definitely recommend this house if you are staying in Torquay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you Val and Gary for your lovely review. We are sure it will be very useful to fellow guests on what to expect at Rowell House. Good luck with the rest of our trip. Kind regards Dawn and Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaMoor...
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you have a family, this is the place for you!”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a holiday home that would suit us all, and we were not disappointed. My partner and myself took our daughter, son-in-law and our 18 month old grandson. The house was really spacious with lots of room for us all to have our own space as ell as spend time together. Our little grandson loved exploring the house as did we. Every time we turned around we found something new, not only the practicalities like the second fridge to the buckets and spades and wet suits but things like the washing line on the roof garden!

We love Torquay as a holiday resort as there is so much to do and we normally spend our evenings in the town how ever we felt so at home at Rowell house we tended to stay in most evenings and spend time as a family. when we went out in the day the town is just a few minutes work away as are the beaches and bus stops for those that don't drive.

Dawn and Steve were great hosts and ensured we had everything we needed before and during our stay we really appreciated arriving to find milk in the fridge and tea and sugar in the cupboard. We were a year in planning this holiday and we can't wait to plan the next one.

Thank you for everythin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The eclectic decor , it was intriguing and beautiful.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoew81
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in may, house very spacious, room for 4 adults, 2 kids and a dog! Rooms very clean, lots of useful equipment buckets spades beach mats etc great location close to harbour and beeches. Space for car on drive I got my Renault scenic on and space on main road. Plenty of games and dvds to play with. Great shower! The owners of this property are very easy to get hold of, helpful, produced a great guide about the house and made us feel very welcome. This property is definitely worth visiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing